Page images
PDF
EPUB

APPENDIX.

ALMOND, Town, in county of Portage.

ANCIENT, P. O., in Dane county.

ARGYLE, P. O., in Lafayette county.

ARGYLE, Town, in Lafayette county.

ASHTON, P. O., in Dane county.

BADGER, P. O., in Fond du Lac county.

BEAULIEUX, Rapids, are in the Wisconsin river, seven miles above the mouth of Pine river. See Jenny Bull Falls.

BELMONT, Town, in Lafayette county.

BENTON, P. O., in Lafayette county.

BERLIN, P. V., is situated on sections 3 and 4, on the east side of Fox river, in town 17 N., of range 13 E. It was laid out in 1849 by N. H. Strong, Esq., from whom it derived the name of Strong's Landing, by which it is sometimes called. It is a place of considerable business, has a good river trade, and is in the centre of a large agricultural district. It has two newspapers, and various mercantile and mechanical establish

ments.

BENTON, Town, in Lafayette county.

BIG FOOT PRAIRIE, P. O., in town of Walworth, Walworth county.

BRISTOL, P. O., in town of same name, in the county of Kenosha.

BYRON, P. O., in Fond du Lac county.

CENTREVILLE, Town, in Manitowoc county.

CENTRE, Town, in Lafayette county.

COLLINS, P. O., in Manitowoc county.

COON PRAIRIE, P. O., in Crawford county.

COPPER ROCK, River, is a tributary from the west of Wisconsin river, which it enters, at Rock Island, 10 miles below Grand Father Bull Falls.

COTTAGE INN, P. O., in Lafayette county, on stage route from Madison to Galena, 60 miles southwest from Madison.

DEPERE, Town, in Brown county.

DUNKIRK, P. O., in Dane county.

EDSON, Town, in Manitowoc county.

ELK GROVE, P. O., in town of same name, Lafayette county.

ELK GROVE, Town, in Lafayette county.

EOLIA, P. O., in Dane county.

FAYETTE, Town, in Lafayette county.

FLORENCE, P.0., in town of Portage Prairie, Columbia county, on section 6, town 12 N., of range 12 E., at head of Duck Creek. FOND DU LAC, City. This place was one of the earliest located towns in Wisconsin, a paper city, laid out and platted several years in advance of the progress of civilization. But the past ten years has wrought a change which few Western towns can rival. The city is located at the head of Lake Winnebago, on section 10, town 15, of range 17 E. The principal business portion is situated about three-quarters of a mile from the lake, on the Fond du Lac river, whose mouth forms a convenient port of entry for the steam boats and other

water crafts which run between this place, Oshkosh, Wolf river, and Upper and Lower Fox rivers. The river, at the upper part of the city and a short distance above, furnishes several very fair mill powers for the manufacture of lumber, flour, &c., and on which an oil mill is also being erected. The principal part of the city is built upon a level prairie on the east side of the river. On the west side was formerly a beautiful sugar maple grove, which affords one of the most inviting and pleasant retreats that could well be desired, and in which are erected a large number of private residences, which are destined to be the most desirable in the city. The place is backed up and sustained by one of the richest and most productive farming counties in the State. One of the most inviting features of this place, is the pure water with which it is supplied, from the large number of never-failing fountains, or artesian wells, which brings the water to the surface of the earth, and yields a most bountiful supply of as pure water as can be found in the State, and to which may be attributed, in a great degree, the extensive healthfulness of the place. The streets are wide, the lots of convenient size, and laid out with much uniformity and tastewith several public squares, which, when properly improved, will add much to the beauty of the place. About 3 miles of double plank road has been constructed within the limits of of the city. A large amount of money has also been expended in building side-walks throughout the entire city, which are mostly of plank, and of very convenient width. The present population of the city is estimated at about 4,000, and is rapidly increasing by the influx of business men and capitalists from the East. It was first incorporated as a village in 1847, and a city charter granted in the winter of 1852. There are in the city 9 hotels, 2 exchange or banking houses, 12 dry goods, 15 grocery and provision, 4 clothing, 4 wine and liquor, 8 boot and shoe, 2 hat and cap, 4 harness and leather, 3 stove and tin ware, and 1 iron and hardware

stores; 2 jeweller, 5 cabinet, 5 blacksmith, 3 paint, 2 gun, 3 waggon, and 3 milliner shops; 4 warehouses, 4 lumber yards, 5 saloons, 3 livery stables, 6 bakeries, 1 foundry, 3 sash and blind factories, 4 meat markets; 1 cigar, 1 car, and 1 cradle manufactory; 1 book bindery, 2 planing mills, 3 nursery establishments, 1 auction store, 2 daguerrean galleries, 3 printing offices, 16 law offices, 9 physicians and surgeons, 3 barber's shops. In addition to these, there are a large number of small establishments, where various kinds of business are carried on with great success. There are 7 religious denominations.

FRANCIS CREEK, P. O., in Manitowoc county.

FREEDOM, P. O., in Sauk county.

GEORGETOWN, P. O., in Lafayette county.

GRAND FATHER BULL, Falls, are the largest rapids on the Wisconsin river. The river at this place is divided into three chutes by two chains of rocks rising fifteen feet above the

water.

GREEN BAY, Town, in Brown county.

HAMPDEN, P. O., in town of same name, in Columbia county.

HARTFORD, P. V., in Washington county.

HELENA, P. V., see Helena Village.

HOWARD, Town, in Brown county.

HORTONVILLE, P. O., in town of Hortonia, on Wolf river, in Outagamie county.

JACKSON, County, was set off from La Crosse at the January session of the legislature in 1853, and includes all of said county of La Crosse, north of town 18. The seat of justice is at the village of Black River Falls, on Black river. In this county about 15,000,000 feet of pine lumber is sawed annually. For further particulars, see La Crosse county.

JANESVILLE, City, is located on section 1, of town of same name, in Rock county. It is pleasantly situated on both sides of Rock river, 14 miles north of the State line, and about midway between Lake Michigan and the Mississippi river; 40 miles southeast of Madison, and 90 from Chicago, Ill. It was organized into a city government in April, 1853. It is the county seat of Rock county, has two extensive water powers which are but partially developed, and is surrounded by a fertile and farming dairy country, with which it has an extensive trade. Its steady and rapid increase in population and wealth will appear from the following statistics: The first families settled upon the spot where the city now stands in the year 1836. A' village was laid out in 1839. In 1843, the population was 333; in 1845, 857; in 1847, 1,458; in 1849,、 1,812; in 1850, 3,100; in 1853, about 5,000. Rail roads from Milwaukee, Racine, Kenosha, Chicago, Beloit, Dubuque, Madison, and Fond du Lac, are projected to this city; the first already completed, and the others are under contract to be finished in one or two years. There are 4 flouring mills, within the limits of the corporation, having 10 run of stones; 3 saw mills, 1 woollen factory, 1 mill for manufacturing water lime, and grinding coarse feed for cattle, swine, &c., to which is to be added an oil mill, two foundries, a mill for sawing stone and turning wood, with a large number of mechanic shops of all descriptions; 12 dry good, 17 grocery, 2 hardware, 2 book, 3 drug, several clothing, shoe and variety stores; 2 banks, (Badger State, and Central Wisconsin); 5 hotels, and a sixth being erected, of very large dimensions, on the ruins of one recently burnt down; 4 printing presses, 3 weekly and 1 monthly newspaper, and 1 book bindery. The State Institution for the Blind is located at Janesville, a portion of the buildings are completed in which several children are receiving instruction. Besides the public schools, Janesville has an academy and a female seminary, both excellent institutions; also 6 large churches erected, built of brick or stone..

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »