Page images

extending due east and west, when reckoning north or South. Commencing at the base line, (which, in Wisconsin, is the south line of the State,) every six miles numbering to the north is called a town, and is numbered town one, town two, town three, &c. Commencing at the meridian, (which is the line separating Grant from Iowa and Lafayette counties,) every six miles is called a range, and is numbered range one east, range two east, or range one west, &c., as the case may be. It will be seen that this system divides the whole surface of the country into squares of six miles square, or thirty six square miles each. These squares are townships, and the figures are applied as follows: Madison is in town 7 N., range 9 E.; Fond du Lac, in town 15 N., range 17 E.; Lancaster, in town 4 N., range 3 W.; Hudson, in town 29 N., range 19 W., &c. Townships are divided into thirty-six squares of one mile each, called sections, and numbered as follows: o, *

iSchool 18 17 16 15 14 13 Section

19 20 21 22 23 24

30 29 28 27 26 25

31 32 33 34 35 36

Each section contains 640 ares of land, and is divided into four equal parts, called quarters, by a line through the centre each way, each quarter consequently containing 160 acres, thus:

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

Each quarter is again subdivided into four equal parts, after the manner of the division of sections, each subdivision containing 40 acres:

[ocr errors]

The subdivisions are designated as quarters of quarters, thus the northeast 40 acre subdivision is known as the N. E. qr. of the N. E. qr. Madison is situated at the corners of sections 13, 14, 23 and 24; it is therefore on the S. W. qr, of sec 13, S. E. qr. of sec. 14, N. E. qr, of sec. 23, and N. W. qr. of sec. 24.

MISCELLANEOUS.—The District Court of the United States for the district of Wisconsin, ANDREW G. MILLER, Judge, holds one term at Madison, and one at Milwaukee, annually. HENRY DoDGE, of Dodgeville, Iowa county, and Is AAC P. WALKER, of Milwaukee, are United States Senators in Congress, from Wisconsin. The following are the officers of the Wisconsin Militia : LEONARD J. FARWELL, Commander-in-Chief, Madison. BENJ. F. HoPRINs, Madison, C. C. WASHBURNE, Mineral Point, CoLES BASHFORD, Oshkosh, CHARLES CLEMENT, Kenosha, Governor’s Aids. WILLIAM L. UTLEy, Tacine, Adjutant General, salary $300 ; DAVID ATwooD, Madison, Quarter-Master General; JAMEs B. MARTIN, Milwaukee, Pay-Master General : JAMES RICHARDSON, Madison, Commissary General; JoHN W. Hunt, M. D., Madison, Surgeon General; N. BISHOP EDDY, Madison, Judge Advocate General; WILLIAM DUDLEY, Madison, Military Secretary. ANDREW PROUDFIT, BENJAMIN ALLEN and LUCAS M. MILLER, are Commissioners; R. P. EIGHME, Register, and JAMES MURDOCK, Treasurer of the Board of Public Works. H. S. ORTON, is Private Secretary of the Governor, also Reporter of the Supreme Court. WILLIAM DUDLEY, State Librarian. The following are the names of members of the Legislature: Senators by Districts.-1st. H. N. Smith; 2d. James. S. Alban; 3d. A. M. Blair; 4th. B. S. Weil; 5th. E. M. Hunter; 6th. D. C. Reed; 7th. J. W. Cary; 8th. J. R. Sharpstein ; 9th. Geo. R. McLane; 10th. M. H. Bovee; 11th. T. T. Whittlesey; 12th. E. Wakeley; 13th. Charles Dunn: 14th. Alva Stewart; 15th. Levi

Sterling; 16th. Joel C. Squires; 17th. Ezra Miller; 18th. J. R.
Briggs, Jr.; 19th. Benjamin Allen; 20th. Bertine Pinckney; 21st.
Coles Bashford; 22d. Judson Prentice; 23d. David S. Wittum ;
24th. Thos. S. Bowen ; 25th. James T. Lewis.
Timothy Burns, President. John K. Williams, Chief Clerk.

Members of Assembly by Counties.—Adams and Sauk—Charles Armstrong.

Brown, Kewaunee and Door—Randall Wilcox.

Bad Ax and Crawford–H. A. Wright.

Calumet—J. Robinson.

Chippewa and La Crosse—A. D. La Due.

Columbia–O. D. Coleman and J. Q. Adams.

Dane–Matthew Roche, H. Baines, H. L. Foster, P. C. Burdick and S. W. Field.

Dodge—Whitman Sayles, W. M. Dennis, P. Kelly, John W. Davis, Edwin Hillyer and E. N. Foster.

Fond du Lac-J. S. Tallmadge, Charles D. Gage, Querin Loehr and N. M. Donaldson.

Grant—J. E. Dodge, J. A. Barber, H. E. Block, H. D. York and T. Hayes.

Green—Thomas Fenton. Iowa–H. Madden and P. W. Thomas. Jefferson—Patrick Rogan, W. W. Woodman, D. Powers, J. E. Holmes and J. H. Ostrander. Kenosha—J. McKisson and C. L. Sholes. Lafayette—Eli Robinson, P. B. Simpson and Nathan Olmstead. Marquette and Waushara—Ezra. Wheeler. Marquette—E. B. Kelsey. Milwaukee—H. Haertel, E. McGarry, H. L. Palmer, Richard Carlile, H. C. West, J. Meyer, J. H. Tweedy, W. A. Hawkins, and E. Chase. Manitowoc.—E. Ricker. Outagamie, Waupacca and Oconto—A. Resley. Portage—G. W. Cate. Racine–H. T. Sanders, W. H. Roe, T. West and P. Belden. Richland—Henry Conner. Rock—C. Stevens, H. Stebbins, W. D. Murray, and H. Holmes. Sheboygan–C. B. Coleman and D. Taylor. St. Croix and La Pointe—O. T. Maxson. . Walworth—John Bell, James Lauderdale, O. T. Bartlett, T. H. Fellows, Joseph W. Seaver and T. W. Hill. Washington—C. E. Chamberlin, C. Schutte, W. P. Barnes and J. W. Porter. Waukesha—Orson Reed, E. Lees, W. D. Bacon and E. Pearl. Winnebago—Curtis Reed and Lucas M. Miller. Henry L. Palmer, Speaker. Thomas McHugh, Chief Clerk.

The settlement in Wisconsin at the organization of the Territorial Government, will be shown by the following statement of the number of votes given at the first election under the organic law, in 1836:

JBrown County—Green Bay, 118; Howard, 32; Mason, (Depere,) 34; Sheboygan, 36; Menomonee river, 15; Little Butte des Morts, 9; Manitowoc, 20; Portage of Fox and Wisconsin, 61.-325.

Crawford County—Prairie du Chien, 68.—68.

Iowa County—Elk Grove, 28; Van Buren, (Potosi,) 97; Diamond Inn, 35; New Diggings, 77 ; Platteville, 90: White Oak Springs, 106; Hamilton, (Wiota,) 64; Hardscrabble, (Hazel Green,) 48; Wingville, 57; Gratiot's Grove, (Shullsburg,) 43; Mineral Point, 226; Menomonee, (Jamestown,) 24; New Mexico, (Monroe,) 47; Cassville, 150; Paris, 12; Belmont, 76; Bois Prai

rie, (Lancaster.) 18; Dodgeville, 90–1288.

Milwaukee County–Pike River, (near Kenosha,) 108; Milwaukee, 449; Louis Vieux, (Waukesha,) 60; Moses Smith's, (Rochester.) 13: Racine, 92; Rock River, (Watertown,) 23; Upper Fox River, (Waterford,) 25–781. Total, 2,462.

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »