Page images

I. International Health Conference



The International Health Conference, convened in New York on June 19, 1946 by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, took action to establish a single international health organization world-wide in scope and to provide for interim action pending the entry into force of its Constitution.

On July 22, 1946 the Conference was brought to a close by the signing of the following documents: (1) the Final Act (61 states); (2) the Constitution of the World Health Organization (61 states) ; (3) an Arrangement establishing its Interim Commission (61 states); (4) a Protocol concerning the Office International d'Hygiène publique (60 states). This latter instrument provides for the ultimate dissolution of the Office and for the transfer of its functions to the World Health Organization or to its Interim Commission.

The Constitution provides that the World Health Organization shall be a specialized agency to be brought into relationship with the United Nations according to Article 57 of the Charter of the United Nations. It allows for the integration with the World Health Organization of existing regional intergovernmental health agencies.

The Interim Commission, composed of 18 states, was formed by resolution of the Conference and began its work before the Conference ended. It later continued at work under the authority of the Arrangement signed on July 22, 1946. This allows for the assumption by the Commission of the functions and duties of the Health Organization of the League of Nations, the Office International d'Hygiène publique, and of those special functions of UNRRA which relate to the exchange of epidemiological information.

A Conference resolution requests the United Nations to transfer to the Interim Commission the functions of the Health Organization of the League of Nations which have been assumed by the United Nations.

The Constitution of the World Health Organization will enter into force when it has been accepted by 26 members of the United Nations. The first two states to accept it were the United Kingdom and China


« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »