« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
Comparative Anatomy, and one of the most splendid and valuable collections of Minerals to be found in the country: the Chemical Apparatus, very extensive and valuable, and the collection of specimens to illustrate the course on Materia Medica, very complete. The library contained 1,400 volumes.
The Faculty of this College were for the most part non-resident; the Whites resided in Cherry Valley, Beck and McNaughton in Albany, Delamater for a part of the time in Palmyra, Hamilton in Auburn, and Willoughby in Newport. After the discontinuance of the College, Doctors Beck and McNaughton became connected with the Albany Medical College, and Doctors Delamater, Hadley and Hamilton with the one at Geneva. Dr. Willoughby, who had already retired from active duties before the College ended, died at Newport in 1844, at the age of seventy-five.
The last official trace of the existence of this College that we have found was the resignation of Doctors Beck, McNaughton and Hamilton, as Professors, dated January 26, 1841. The last degrees were conferred on that date, upon two young men who had completed their course the year previous, excepting a few weeks of study which had been in the meantime fulfilled as required by law.
In recent years the surviving Trustees of the old Medical College have filled vacancies in their Board, and asserted rights of property in the premises. It is understood that this does not imply an intention of reviving the College, but that the action has another motive which will be further noticed in our account of Fairfield Academy,
Officers of the College of Physicians and Surgeons for the
Professors. Lyman Spalding, M. D., Professor of Anatomy and Surgery and Lecturer on the Prac. tice of Medicine, 1813-17. Resigned.
Westel Willoughby, M. D., Professor of Obstetrics, 1818-40. (Emeritus Professor from 1836-40.)
James Hadley, M. D., Professor of Chemistry, Materia Medica and Mineralogy, 1813-40. (Of Chemistry only for first years; of Chemistry and Pharmacy from 1836-40.)
T. Romeyn Beck, M. D., Professor of the Institutes of Medicine and Lecturer on Medical Jurisprudence, 1815-36. (Of Materia Medica and Medical Jurisprudence from 1886-41.)
Joseph White, M. D., Professor of Surgery, 1817-27. Resigned.
and Diseases of Women and Children, 1836-39; Professor of Practice of Physic and Midwifery, 1839-40.
Reuben D. Mussey, M. D., Professor of Surgery and Midwifery, 1836-38. Resigned. Frank H. Hamilton, M, D., Professor of Surgery, 1839-41.
(John Stearns, M. D., was elected Professor of the Theory and Practice of Physic, December 1, 1812, but his name does not afterward appear in the records.]
Number of Students attending and number Graduating at the
College of Physicians and Surgeons for the Western District (Fairfield), during the term of its Corporate Existence from 1812 to 1840.
Total number of students attending from 1813–14 to 1839-40, inclusive, 3,123.
Total number of Graduates as above, 609.
After the cessation of Lectures the building was repaired and it has since been used by the Fairfield Academy, and more recently by the Fairfield Seminary.
COLUMBIA VETERINARY COLLEGE. Formed under general act in 1878, and located at 217 East Thirty-fourth street, New York city. First report made in 1880, when it reported 32 students and 14 graduating. In 1881, it reported 36 students and 10 graduating. In 1882, it reported 59 students and 12 graduated. In its announcement for 1884–85, it bears the name of the “ Columbia Veterinary College and School of Comparative Medicine.”
EXCELSIOR COLLEGE OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK. Incorporated April 16, 1857,' with the usual powers of a medical institution, and authorized to confer degrees and to appoint a dele
Chap. 685, Laws of 1857. An amendatory act was passed April 13, 1858 (chap. 160).
gate to the State Medical Society. Subject to the visitation of the Regents and required to report annually to them; but so far as appears from their records, it was never organized
ECLECTIC MEDICAL COLLEGE OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK. This corporation was created by act of April 22, 1865. The Board of Trustees was required to appoint at least six Professors in the various departments of Medical Science, including Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, Materia Medica, Obstetrics, Chemistry, Medical Jurisprudence, Practice of Medicine and Surgery. They might confer degrees upon the terms usually required in other Medical Colleges, and their diplomas were to confer the same rights as those of other Colleges. They were to report annually to the Regents, and were made subject to their visitation.
The College was organized December 19, 1865, and located at the corner of Livingston place and East Fifteenth street. Number of Students and of Graduates reported to the Regents.
THE ELECTRO-MEDICAL COLLEGE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
Incorporated June 9, 1875, and made subject to the visitation of the Regents. No reports received.
JEFFERSON MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WATERTOWN. Incorporated April 23, 1867, but plans never perfected, and little or nothing ever done.
LONG ISLAND COLLEGE HOSPITAL (Brooklyn). This institution was incorporated March 6, 1858,' with the usual * Chap. 542, Laws of 1865, p. 1028. An amendatory act was passed April 30, 1869 (chap. 419), providing for the appointment of the Faculty, branches to be studied, power of conferring degrees, etc.
2 Chap. 550, Laws of 1875. 3 Chap. 19, Laws of 1858.
powers of a Medical College. Income limited to $10,000 a year; the annual payment of $10, or $100 at one time, was to confer all the rights of membership. Made subject to the visitation of the Regents. Clergymen of the same communion as patients were to be allowed access to the hospital.
By an act passed April 2, 1862, five persons were to be elected annually, to serve as Regents of the corporation, to act with those whose terms had not expired, till next election. Further amendments were passed April 30, 1864,· May 23, 1867, April 2, 1879,and February 9, 1881.
This institution is located on the corner of Pacific and Henry streets, in the city of Brooklyn, and claims to have been the first in the country that combined successfully a College with a hospital for the purposes of instruction.
“The hospital is under the immediate control of the College authorities, and is available at all times for practical instruction. The collegiate year embraces a Reading Session, which commences in October, and a Regular Session, which begins at the close of the Reading Session in February, and lasts five months. Only the Reg. ular Session is obligatory upon candidates for graduation. In connection with the College building is a dispensary, which treats annually over ten thousand patients. The authorities of the city of Brooklyn have had established the Central Depot of the City Ambulance System at Long Island College Hospital. During the year 1881, 1,340 were treated by the Ambulance Surgeons.
The College buildings have been recently greatly altered and improved. A large additional building, containing all modern improvements in ventilation, and much additional room, has recently been erected. No preliminary examination is required for entrance
College. The expenses are: Full course of lectures, $100; matriculation, $5; demonstrator's ticket, $5; graduation fee, $25. The candidate for graduation must be twenty-one years of age, and must present legal evidence that he has studied medicine for three years with a physician duly authorized by law to practice his profession. He must have attended two full courses of lectures, the last of which must have been in Long Island College Hospital. He must submit to the authorities of the College an acceptable thesis and pass satisfactory examinations."
The report published in the Regents' Report of 1884 shows that extensive improvements had been recently made, consisting of additional lecture and recitation-rooms, chenrical, physiological and histological laboratories, and a museum for the College ; besides addi. tional, general and private wards for the use of the hospital. The grounds and buildings were valued at $320,000. The Faculty consisted of twenty-one Professors and Lecturers.
Whole number of Graduates to June, 1883, inclusive, 897.
MEDICAL COLLEGE LABORATORY OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK.
Incorporated by act of March 22, 1883,' for the purpose of holding and using real and personal estate for educational purposes in the city of New York. John C. Draper, Alfred L. Loomis, Wm. Darling, William H. Thompson, Charles Inslee Parde, J. Williston Wright, William M. Polk and Lewis A. Stimson (all of the degree of "M. D.” were made corporators and first Trustees.
METROPOLITAN MEDICAL COLLEGE. Incorporated March 28, 1857, with the usual powers of a Medical College, and made subject to visitations by the Regents, to whom they were required to report annually.
Reports were made in 1860 and 1861, the former showing a class of 13, with 1 graduate, and the latter, a class of 20, with 8 graduates. The charter was repealed by act of April 12, 1862.'