« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
THE HOMEOPATHIC MEDICAL COLLEGE OF THE STATE OF NEW
YORK, IN NEW YORK CITY. The institution having the above corporate name was incorporated by the Legislature April 12, 1860, and allowed to hold property for its uses not exceeding $100,000 in amount. The Trustees might confer the Degree of Doctor of Homeopathic Medicine upon the same conditions as to age, time of study, attendance at lectures, etc., as is usual in Medical Colleges, and were required to report annually to the Regents. Name changed by act of April 14, 1869,' to
NEW YORK HOMEOPATHIC COLLEGE, the act naming the corporators of the institution, and specifying the powers and privileges of the corporation.
Number. Attending and Graduating at the New York Homa
opathic College of the State of New York, as reported to the Regents.
* No reports. The course of study in this College extends through three years, and includes three distinct courses of lectures, arranged in progressive order. The under-graduate students are divided into three classes : Freshman, Junior and Senior. The College degree is granted on the terms and conditions specified in the charter. Opportunities are afforded to the students to attend clinics, and to visit the various hospitals and institntions.
! Chap. 329, Laws of 1860, p. 560. The first Trustees were Hollis White, A. Oakey Hall, Daniel F. Tiemann, Cyrus W. Field, Benjamin F. Pinckney, James M. Smith, Jr., Abram B. Conger, Henry Nicoll, Horace H. Day, Francis A. Hall, Gordon W. Burnham, Charles L. Frost, David Austin, Jr., William Barton, John Haggerty, Charles E. Milner, L. and C. Clark, Frederick L. Talcott, James F. Hall, John P. Brown, J. M. Cooper, H. L. Van Wyck and P. M. Suydam.
Chap. 191, Laws of 1869.
The report to the Regents, published in 1884, shows that this College has twenty Professors, Demonstrators of Surgery and Microscopy and Midwifery, and six Assistants and Instructors. Various prizes in books and instruments are given by the Faculty. The College owns no real estate, but rents two lecture-rooms in the building of the New York Ophthalmic Hospital. Its educational collections are valued at $3,600.
Medical Department of Rutger's College. Although Rutger's College is in a neighboring State, and no official notice has been taken by the Regents of any thing done under its sanction within this State, a brief account should be given of these proceedings in order to render the history of Medical Education in the State of New York complete.
In 1792, the Faculty of the Medical School in Columbia College was reorganized, with Doctors Richard Bailey, Wright Post, John P. B. Rogers, William Hamersley, Williain P. Smith, Samuel Nicoll and Richard S. Kissam, as Professors, and Dr. Samuel Bard as Dean.
Some of these appointments proved so unsatisfactory to the students that many of them withdrew; and those interested in the formation of a separate school, under the act of 1791, finding themselves delayed in that measure, procured authority from Rutger's College (formerly Queen's College), and in 1792 and 1793 classes were graduated.
Nothing further appears in the records of Rutger's College after 1793, concerning their Medical Department, until 1812, when it was re-established with the following Faculty:
ARCHIBALD BRUCE, M. D., Professor of Materia Medica and Mineralogy.
NICHOLAS ROMAYNE, M. D., Professor of the Institutes of Medicine and Forensic Medicine.
VALENTINE SEAMAN, M. D., Professor of Anatomy, Physiology and Surgery.
THOMAS Cock, M. D., Professor of Anatomy and Physiology.
John Griscom, LL. D., Professor of Chemistry and Natural Phil. osophy.
1 The general catalogue of Rutger's College shows the appointment of the following Medical Faculty in 1792, viz. : Doctors Richard S. Kissam and William Moore (of Edinburgh), Nicholas Romayne and Mitchell. In 1792, they granted the degree of “M. D.” to six, and that of "M. B.” to two persons. In 1793, the degree of "M. D.” to eight, including Doctors Kissam and Moore, of their own Faculty.
ROBERT BAYARD, M. D., Professor of Midwifery and the Diseases of Women and Children.
JOHN Watts, M. D., Professor of the Practice of Physic.
Some changes were made in 1815, and ALEXANDER H. STEVENS, M. D., was appointed Professor of Surgery. These appointments were annulled in 1826, and six new ones made; but the opponents of this measure having procured a law (April 7, 1827) declaring that degrees conferred in this State by Colleges not within it should be void, the latter were virtually annulled the next year.
The degree of "M. D.” was conferred upon five persons in 1812, one in 1813, two in 1814, six in 1815, six in 1816, and thirty-six in 1827, under this anthority.
Efforts were made to procure a charter from the Legislature directly, and a bill for creating “ Manhattan College " passed the Senate by a large majority, but not the Assembly. This encouraged its friends to further efforts in 1830, but without success."
Medical Department of the University of Buffalo. A University charter was granted to the “ University of Buffalo,"
Chap. 185, Laws of 1827, p. 178.
Memorial of the Rutger's Medical Faculty in New York, praying for an act of incorporation. Senate Doc., 74, 1830.
Memorial of the Trustees of the College of Physicians and Surgeons in the City of New York remonstrating against the establishment of a second Medical College in the city of New York. Senate Doc., 241, 1830.
Memorial of the Professors of Rutger's Medical Faculty (Manhattan College) in the city of New York, in refutation of an attack upon them by the College of Physicians and Surgeons in the City of New York. Senate Doc., 297, 1830.
A bill for the incorporation of Manhattan College was introduced in the Senate in 1830, and was defeated by a vote of 20 to 9.
The petitioners for the College were Doctors Hosack, Macneven, Platt, Francis and Griscom.
The bitterness of this strife is indicated in the following charge made by the opposing party, viz. : “That most of them (the applicants) were formerly Professors and Trustees of the State College, and that during the time they had chief management of it they sunk about $60,000, and brought the College in debt to themselves upwards of $20,000, for which they are now prosecuting the College."
To this it was replied that they had advanced $25,000 for the building. “In its necessities they lent money to the College, because they would be the most lenient creditors, and they left the College, because with other vexations they were subject to an arbitrary taxation, which was tantamount to a confiscation of their debt.”
The Rutger's Medical School was known for a time as the “ New Medical Insti. tution," and occupied a large building on Duane street.
May 11, 1846,' with the usual powers of an American College, and with the right to establish a separate Medical and other Departments. The Medical School was to be allowed to send a delegate to the State Medical Society. The Hon. N. K. Hall, then in the Assembly, was particularly active in procuring this charter.
On the 4th of April, 1859, the University was empowered to establish an Academic Department for young men, preparatory to a collegiate education, with power to provide for instruction in practical mechanical science, engineering, mining and the science of teaching. The Medical Department is the only part of this plan of education that has been established. It was opened in the spring of 1847, and its course of instruction at present extends to three years, the attendance as reported in the Regents' Report of 1884 being 178, of whom 4 were females. The whole number of graduates was about 1,300. Value of grounds, $20,000; of buildings and furniture, $40,000; of library, $3,000, and of apparatus, $1,000. Total, $64,000. No report was rendered of revenue and expenditure.
The College owns the building it occupies. It is a stone edifice, on the corner of Main and Virginia streets.'
The original Faculty of this College was organized as follows: Chemistry and Pharmacy - James Hadley, M. D.
Physiology and Medical Jurisprudence — Charles B. Coventry, M. D.
General and Special Anatomy - James Webster, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Surgery and Clinical Surgery Frank H. Hamilton, M. D.
Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children - James P. White, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Medicine and Clinical Medicine Austin Flint, M. D.
FACULTY OF 1850.
Chap. 194, Laws of 1846. Amended March 22, 1847, with respect to the quorum of the council, etc.
? The first lectures were delivered in a wooden building over the old post-office, corner of Seneca and Washington streets. The present building was erected in 1819-50, by subscription. The largest sum was subscribed by Jesse Ketcham ($600), and the next ($500), by A. D. Patchin. About $8,000 were raised by subscription, and $2,000 were granted by the State. The whole cost was about $15,000.
Emeritus Professor of Physiology and Medical Jurisprudence - Charles B. Coventry, M. D. Pathology and Materia Medica - Charles A. Lee, M. D.
Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children - Jas. P. White, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Surgery and Clinical Surgery-Frank H. Hamilton, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Medicine and Clinical Medicine -Austin Flint, M. D.
Chemistry and Pharmacy - George Hadley, M. D.
FACULTY OF 1861-62.
Emeritus Professor of Physiology anul Medical Jurisprudence – Charles B. Coventry, M. D.
Materia Medica ---Charles A. Lee, M. D.
Physiology and Microscopic Anatomy - William H. Mason, M. D.
Demonstrator of Anatomy - C. P. Fanner, M. D.
FACULTY OF 1867-68. Dean and Registrar -- George IIadley.
Emeritus Proftssor of Physiology and Medical Jurisprudence C. B. Coventry, M. D.
Materia Medica and Hygiene -- Charles A. Lee, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Medicine — Thomas F. Rochester, M. D.
Principles and Practice of Surgery - Edward M. Moore, M. D. Anatomy and Clinical Surgery — Sandford Eastman, M. D.