« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
“ The Junior class shall study the Elements of Criticism, Astronomy, Natural and Moral Philosophy, and shall perform such exercises in the higher branches of the Mathematics as the Faculty shall prescribe.
“ The Senior class shall study select portions of Ancient and Modern History, such parts of Locke's Essay on the Human Understanding as the President shall direct, Stewart's Elements of the Philosophy of the Hunan Mind, and shall review the principal studies of the preceding years, and also such portions of Virgil, Cicero and Horace as the President shall direct, and shall be accustomed to apply the principles of criticisin.”
As it became further developed it compared very nearly with the course of instruction then in use in the New England Colleges. But for more than forty years there has been offered at Union Col. lege the choice of a Classical and a Scientific course, the latter differing from the former in the substitution of the Modern Langnages for Greek and Latin, and in the extent to which Mathematics and the Physical Sciences were pursued in the Junior and the Senior years.
Department of Civil Engineering. — This was established in 1815, under the direction of Prof. William M. Gillespie, and has since been continued with success. Its course of instruction aims to impart skill and practical experience in Mechanical draughting, instrumental field-work and numerical calculation, combined with the study of Text-books, and lectures on various subjects. The course now extends to four years, and is intermingled with the Scientific course.of the College proper. The Department is well supplied with models, including the Olivier Collection, representing the most important and complicated ruled surfaces of Descriptive Geoinetry, particularly warped surfaces. The degree of Civil Engineer is conferred upon the graduates of this course. At the present time about forty students are pursuing studies in Civil Engineering, which has been about the average of the last ten years.
Department of Analytical Chemistry. - In 1855 a Chemical Laboratory was established under the charge of Prof. Charles E. Joy. It has been since continued, and the average number of students engaged in the Laboratory is about twenty-five. Besides daily recitations and lectures upon Chemistry in the third term of the Sophomore and the first and second terms of the Junior years there is a regular daily two hours' course of experimental Chemistry at the Laboratory. The Nott Laboratory is open in all branches of Chem. istry for special students, especially for students in Agriculture or Medicine, Pharmacentists, Manufacturing Chemists, Mineralogists, Metallurgists, Students of Medical Jurisprudence, etc. The Labor. atory is now under the charge of Prof. Maurice Perkins, M. D. An Alumni Association has existed for a long period.
1“ It is worthy of remark, as an item of College history, that Union College was the first to introduce the system of Scientific education, which was afterward ably advocated by many of its graduates, especially by the distinguished President of Brown University, Francis Wayland, D. D. The essential feature of this system as originated by Dr. Nott, and now so generally adopted, was the substitution of the Modern Languages and an increased amount of Mathematical and Physical Science in place of the Greek and Roman Classics. Liberty of selection of studies, within certain limits, was also permitted.” — [Union University Catalogue, 1873-4, p. 4.
It was incorporated by act of March 26, 1857, with various powers and privileges, and since 1871 it has been represented in the Board of Trustees by four of its members, one being elected annually for a term of four years.
Amendments to the Charter. — The Regents, by an ordinance passed July 15, 1864, reduced the quorum of Trustees, for the transaction of business, from eleven to seven.
By a further amendment made by the Regents January 11, 1797, the tenure of office of President was made subject to the will and pleasure of a majority of the Trustees, instead of during good behavior, as provided in the charter of 1795. On the 2d of June, 1871, the Regents authorized the election of four Trustees as above mentioned.
By an ordinance of the Regents passed June 16, 1879, the charter was further amended so that whenever there were three Trustees resident in Schenectady no other resident of the city should be eligible to the office by election of the Alumni.
College Grounds. — The original grounds have been somewhat encroached upon by railroads and street improvements, and now include about 130 acres, including the campus, gardens and grounds, and some 100 acres of fields and woodlands.
Buildings. — The principal buildings upon College Hill for more than sixty years were North College and South College, 600 feet apart, built of brick rough cast, and facing the west. A “ Colonnade ”extended eastward from each to the distance of about 300 feet from the front line.
1 Chap. 182, Laws of 1857.
? The plans of North and South Colleges are alike except as to the position of the colonnades, and when viewed in front, each appears as a pair of large threestory dwellings, connected by a four-story building, the latter faced with pilasters to the whole height and arches extending up to include the first and second stories. Each College building is 200 by 40 feet on the ground. The end portions are used as residences for Professors and the central part as dormitories for students. This central portion has three separate entrances front and rear, with four rooms on each floor, making, originally, forty-eight rooms in each College. Within the past few years a renovation of the interior has been undertaken, and rooms in some cases connected for greater convenience, so as to appear more cheerful and home-like.
To the north and south, but at some distance, were two smaller symmetrical buildings used as dwellings. Each of the principal College buildings contained residences for two or more Professors' families -- the remainder being chiefly occupied as dormitories and rooms for Literary Societies. The chapel, recitation-rooms, Library, office, etc., were mostly provided for in the “Colonnades," and in the terminal buildings at their eastern end.
A central circular building, midway between North and South Colleges, graced the original plan, and for about sixty years was a familiar object upon paper. In 1858 the foundations were laid and carried up to the level of the first floor, and there the work rested. After the election of President Potter the work was resumed, and it has since been finished at a cost of about $120,000, a part of which sum was contributed by near relatives of the President. It is known as “ Alumni and Memorial Hall."
This building has sixteen equal sides, is eighty-four feet in diameter, and fifty feet to the top of the walls. It is surmounted by a dome, which rises 120 feet above the floor, and the interior forms a spacious rotunda, with galleries, used for a time for the Library, and serving as a repository for works of art.
The colonnades are each 250 feet in length by 25 in breadth, and terminate in square-roofed buildings one story higher. These buildings are each eighty by fifty feet on the ground. The North Colonnade and building are used for chemical and philosophical apparatus and lecture-rooms, the chemical laboratory and cabinets of the Engineering Department. Those on the south are used for chapel, library, cabinet, office and recitation-rooms.
In the “Decennial Review connected with the Annual Report of the President of Union College" (1882), p. 75, the following reference is made to this building :
“ Architects of experience and others in no way interested remark that it is more beautiful and useful than similar buildings of American Colleges, and when finally arranged, will furnish larger accommodations for Commencement purposes,
For winter use, temporary compartments by curtains or partitions would make the main floor or galleries comfortable and convenient. It can be utilized also for Baccalaureate and other gatherings of the public and the Alumni, and for a Glyptotheca. By its temporary use it has aided the Library in development and endowment, while its galleries are receiving contributions of art objects and its rotunda, with busts and tablets, forms a noble Memorial Hall."
At some distance to the rear of this there has recently been erected a building with an open colonnade concentric with Memorial Hall, at a cost of about $40,000. It is known as “ Powers' Hall," in honor of the late Thomas Henry Powers, who made a donation of $3,000, and expressed an intention of largely increasing his benefactions in the way of a substantial endowment. A sudden and fatal illness prevented even a record of this intention, but his widow in memory of her husband and his namesake, her only son, increased the gift by adding about $45,000.' This building is used for the Library, and recitation-rooms.
A President's house was built in 1873, upon the grounds south of South College, and a gymnasium in 1874, in the rear of the same College building.
Military Instruction.— In 1873 a course of military instruction was instituted, under an army officer detailed for the purpose, and this is still continued. All able-bodied students are expected to attend its exercises; but the two higher classes may elect physical culture, three times a week, or history in two apportionments a week. In special cases, the same may be allowed to members of the two lower classes. Work in this department is credited as in other studies, and neglect debars from privileges as in case of other duties. Instruction consists in drill, target practice, military signaling and surveying, field fortifications, organization of volunteers and militia, and other practical information that would be useful in the emergency
Preparatory School.— Union College has never had a Preparatory Department. The “Schenectady Academy,” after its revival in 1818 — the “Schenectady Lyceum” of later date, and at the present time the “Schenectady Classical Institute,” have practically afforded the facilities of such a department, but without having any organic connection with the College. The name of the Principal of the latter (who is also Superintendent of city schools in Schenectady) is by courtesy placed with the Faculty in the College cata
1" Decennial Review," p. 68. * The Library of Union College contains about 20,000 titles, and is classified and catalogued upon the best method. There are also two good Society libraries. A free reading-room has been maintained, supplied with newspapers and periodicals, American and foreign.
Prizes.— The late Hon. Horatio G. Warner, LL. D., of Rochester (class of 1826), Regent, founded a prize of Silver plate, worth $50, for highest standing in the performance of College duties and deportment.
The late Hon. Albert C. Ingham, LL. D., of Meridian (class of 1847), founded an annual prize of $70, in plate, medal or money, for best essay on one of two assigned subjects in English Literature or History.
The late Hon. William F. Allen, LL. D., of Oswego (class of 1826), established three prizes of $25, $20 and $15, for best essays on any subject, submitted by appointed members of the Senior class.
The Clark prizes, to the members of the Junior class, for best essays on assigned subjects in English Literature.
Four Oratorical prizes, two to Juniors and two to Sophomores.
Scholarships.- Ordinary scholarships, there are two grades, depending upon good conduct and diligence, one receiving full deduction of the term bill and the other half.
John David Wolfe Memorial Scholarships, established by Miss Catharine Lorillard Wolfe, upon a fund of $50,000.
Levi Parsons Scholarships Fund, $50,000, yielding $300 a year to two, $200 a year to two, and $150 a year to eight students, to relatives of the donor bearing his name and living in Fulton, Montgomery or Hamilton counties, and after these, others from these counties, in an order of preference specified.
Mason Scholarships, founded by Miss Ellen and Miss Ida Mason, of Boston.
Clarkson Nott Potter Scholarships. Credits on term bills.
McClelland Scholarships, founded by Dr. John McClelland, of New York (class of 1832), and affording credit on scholarships.
State Scholarships, founded upon State endowment, and considerable in number.
Union School Scholarships, limited to Schenectady, and subject to certain pledges and conditions.
The following statement shows the condition of the College at the close of its financial year, May 31, 1882 (Regents' Report of 1884):