« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
chiefly upon the grounds that the two existing medical colleges of the State were sufficient to meet all present demands for medical education, and that the true policy of the State was to bestow all its patronage upon these rather than to increase the number.
In connection with this subject it was suggested, that the laws then in operation admitting licentiates from different medical institutions to practice, ought to be modified so as to require in all cases new examination when coming from other States, before admission to practice. It was thought that this would tend to prevent young men of this State from going to very cheap schools in neighboring States, and check the impositions upon the community by unqualified practitioners who held diplomas when unworthy of them. Such prohibitory laws existed in New Jersey and Massachusetts, and in Canada.
A private school of medicine was begun in Albany in 1821 by Dr. Alden March, and lectures on anatomy were delivered to a class of fourteen students. In 1825 he became connected with the Vermont Academy of Medicine, and continued ten years. In 1830, he delivered a public lecture in Albany on the “Propriety of establishing a Medical College and Hospital in Albany,” which was published and excited much interest.
In 1831, James H. Armsby came to Albany as a student of Dr. March, and in 1835 became associated with him in his private school, as a teacher of Anatomy, while Dr. March confined his instruction to operative Surgery, and surgical Pathology. Dr. Armsby delivered several public lectures in Troy and Albany, and in a course of lectures in 1837, he awakened much interest in behalf of a College, in which funds to considerable amount were collected for the purpose. On the 14th of April, 1838, a public meeting was held and active measures were taken to secure a charter. At a second meeting held the next month, it was reported that the use of the Lancaster School Building had been secured, and this was followed by an act of incorporation a few months afterward. The total amount raised for the establishment of the College, by the citizens and State appropriation, was $31,000. The large and valuable anatomical col
In September, 1838, before a charter had been obtained, the friends of this institution issued a · Circular of the Trustees and Faculty of the Albany Medical College." It contained a list of Trustees (the same afterward named in the act), a list of fifty “ Fellows of the College” (medical gentlemen mostly from the eastern part of the State, but six of them in New England), who were privileged to attend all regular meetings of the Faculty and examinations for a degree, and
lections of Doctors March and Armsby were put in the College at the beginning, and increased from year to year. These efforts were nnremitted, until the death of Dr. March in 1869, and of Dr. Armsby in 1875. (Historical Sketch of the Albany Medical College. From " Wunsell's Hist. Coll. of Albany, 1867," continued down to 1876,
On the 16th of February, 1839, an act was passed incorporating the Albany Medical College, with power to hold an estate of $100,000. It was to be subject to the visitation of the Regents, and Was authorized to send one delegate to the State Medical Society.'
The College was established in a building on Eagle street, between Jay and Lancaster streets, which had been formerly occupied by the Lancasterian School, and this, with the addition of wings and other improvements, has since been in use.
The sum of $5,000 a year for three years was appropriated May 25, 1841,' to aid in these additions and improvements, and for the increase of Museum apparatus and library. The Trustees were required to admit one student free, from each of the First, Second, Third and Fourth Senate districts, on the nomination of the censors of the State Medical Society for these districts. A further grant of $1,000 a year for five years was made May 6, 1844.' The quorum of Trustees was fixed at seven in 1845.“
No special events have marked the history of this institution, which has been uninterruptedly in operation from the beginning.
*** Board of Visitors," sixty-seven in number, who were entitled to the privilege of visiting at all times the Museum, Dissecting Rooms, etc., and of attending all public lectures. Of these visitors, twenty were men prominent in public life, and in the legal and clerical professions, the remainder being practicing physicians in various parts of the State. The Faculty announced was as follows:
Ebenezer Emmons, M. D., Professor of Chemistry and Natural History.
David M. McLachlan, M. D., Professor of Materia Medica and Pharmacy.
Chap. 26, Laws of 1839. Reports on the bill relative to the incorporation of this College. Senate Doc. 91. Assem. Doc. 29, 1839.
? Chap. 221, Laws of 1841. Report on Memorial of Trustees." Assem. Doc. 56, 1841.
3 Chap. 279, Laws of 1844. Report on Petitions. Assem. Doc. 136, 1844. * Chap. 165, Laws of 1845.
An effort was made in 1871 to establish a rival Medical College in Albany, and a charter for the “ Capitol City Medical College” was procured, but this was not organized.
The students of this College are classified in four courses. Students who have passed examinations in recognized Colleges and scientific schools are admitted without further examinations, but others are to show satisfactory proficiency in cominon English branches. Tuition fees, $100 for a course, or $150 for two years where paid in advance.
The value of property is reported at $73,000, of which $27,000 are in grounds and buildings, $40,000 in collections, $5,000 in bonds and mortgages, and $1,000 on deposit. Debts, $12,000. Revenue, $12,361.31, including $9,797.16 from tuition collected. Expenditures, $9,342.12.
Several prizes are offered in surgery; ophthalmology, etc., and on final examination and best theses.
The “ Association of the Alumni of the Albany Medical College was incorporated February 6, 1874, for the purpose of promoting the interests of the College and of cultivating social intercourse ainong the Alumni. It holds its annual meeting on Commencement day.
The Albany Hospital, nearly opposite the Medical College, and affording opportunities for clinical instruction to its students, was opened November 1, 1857, donations having been procured to over $100,000 in cash, and nearly as much more in property and supplies for the purpose.
ALBANY COLLEGE OF PHARMACY. Under authority granted in the act passed April 10, 1873, for the incorporation of “Union University,” a department of this name was established by the Governors of the University, and recognized by the Regents, July 12, 1881.
This school has been taught in the Albany Medical College building, and by Professors connected with that College. The course is arranged for two years, and students of both sexes are admitted. The report made in 1882 showed an attendance of 18 in the Junior and 3 in the Senior class, the latter graduating. In 1883, the numbers were 21 in the first, and 11 in the Senior class, and graduates 8. The course of instruction consists in lectures and laboratory exercises. Each collegiate year consists of five months, beginning on the first Monday of October.
The degree of “ Ph. G.” (Graduate in Pharmacy) is conferred. Tuition, $45 for the first and $40 for the second year.
Statistics of Attendance and of Graduation at the Albany Medicul
III. ALBANY Law School. This institution owes its origin to an effort made in 1851 to establish a University in the city of Albany. On the 17th of April of that year an act was passed to incorporate the “University of Albany." The act named forty-eight citizens of Albany as Trustees, with power to create departments of Medicine, Law, and such other departments as they might from time to time deem it expedient, and they might subdivide the Board into threc or more sections for the more direct superintendence of these sections. The Albany Medical College might elect to form a part of the University, but this was not to deprive its Trustees of their office until vacated by death, resignation or otherwise. The University might confer all degrees allowed in other colleges, and was made subject to the visitation of the Regents.
The Trustees met on the 21st of April, 1851, and organized a Law School, with Thomas W. Olcott, Esq., as President of the Board of Trustees, Orlando Meads, LL. D., as Secretary, Ira Harris, LL. D., Amasa J. Parker, LL. D., and Amos Dean, LL. D., as Professors. The Hon. Greene C. Bronson, President of the Faculty.
The school was wholly without funds except as advanced by its Professors. The first course of lectures was delivered in the third story of the Albany Exchange, on the site of the Government building at the foot of State street, and the first class numbered 23 students. The lot south of the Medical College building was offered by its Trustees, and a wing erected, in 1860, by which more extensive accommodations were added.
In the fall of 1879, the Trustees purchased a church-edifice on State street, between Swan and Dove streets, and by the munificence of Thomas W. Olcott, their President, were enabled to fit it up for use, with rooms for library, study and lectures. These premises are not free of debt, but efforts are contemplated for removing incumbrances and providing an ample working library.'
An attempt was made in 1851 to establish a Department of Scientific Agriculture, and lectures were announced upon Geology, Entomology, Elementary Chemistry and Practical Agriculture, but this intention was not entirely fulfilled.' In 1854 a few lectures on Chemistry were delivered, but without leading to further results.
Upon the establishment of the “Union University” in 1873, the Albany Law School, with the cousent of its Trustees, was included in the Union, but as in the case of other institutions forming this University, the affairs of each are managed by its own Trustees as 'before. The act of 1873 changed the name of this institution from the “ Law Department of the University of Albany,” to the one used at the head of this article.
1 An act passed April 12, 1859, constituted the Faculty of the Albany Law School a committee for examining for graduation, and those receiving diplomas were entitled to practice in the courts of this State. This act, so far as related to the privilege last named, was repealed June 5, 1877. (Chap. 267, Laws of 1859. Chap. 417, Laws of 1877.)
2 The Regents' Report of 1884 shows that the property of this school is valued at $32,000, of which $12,000 were in grounds, $18,000 in building and furniture, and $2,000 in a Library of 1,106 volumes. Debts, $10,000 ; Revenue, $7,932. 12, from tuition, and $525.50 from other sources.
3 Professor John F. Norton, James Hall and Dr. Goadly delivered courses of lectures one winter. The death of Professor Norton (hastened without doubt by the heavy duties he undertook of lecturing six days in a week, alternately in Albany and New Haven), proved a serious loss to the Trustees and to Science. It was thought that had his life been spared, his talents and energy would have se. cured success, so far as plans for an Agricultural Department of the University were concerned.