Page images

and management of mills, iron works, steel works, chemical works and pneumatic works; the design and construction of roofs, arch bridges, girder bridges and suspension bridges; the survey and superintendence of mines, the design, construction and use of wind motors, hydraulic motors, air engines, and the various kinds of steam engines; the design, construction and use of machines in general, and the determination of their efficiency; the survey of lakes, rivers, lakes and harbors, and the direction of their improvement; the determination of latitude, longitude, time, and the meridian in geographical exploration, or for other purposes, together with the projection of maps; the selection and tests of materials used in construction; the construction of the various kinds of geometrical and topographical drawings.

In addition to the regular course there are now summer courses in Chemistry and Assaying in vacation, continuing six weeks, where classes can be formed of not less than eight members.

Number of Graduates at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, under its Present and Former Organization, since its beginning.

[ocr errors]
[blocks in formation]

* None graduated in this year on account of an extension of the course.


St. Francis Monastery, in the city of Brooklyn, was incorporated June 2, 1868, the declared object being the education of children,

1 Chap. 851, Laws of 1868.

as well those able to pay as those who were not, and for visiting and assisting the poor. By an act passed May 8, 1884, the limit of property allowed was raised from $50,000 to $250,000, and the trustees were empowered to establish a literary College upon accumulating $50,000, and upon further organization as specified, to confer honors and degrees the same as other Colleges and Universities, but only upon completion of studies equivalent to those of other Colleges. It was to be subject to the rules of the Regents. Proceedings are understood to be in operation for perfecting the organization of this institution as a College, but no reports have as yet been made to the Regents.



In order to render our account of Literary Colleges of the State complete, we have presented in alphabetical order such as have been undertaken without full organization, or that could not be included in the foregoing list, and a few others that have been recognized by law, or that have otherwise come under official notice.


The city government of Albany and many of its influential citizens endeavored to secure the location finally determined in favor of Schenectady, when the incorporation of Union College was granted in 1795. The facts of most importance in this movement are noticed in our account of Union College, and may be traced more fully in the sources of information there cited.


Incorporated April 14, 1858, for the economical and scientific. development of the mineral wealth of the United States, and for giving instruction in mining. Corporators: Isaac Ferris, Horace Webster, Peter Cooper, Charles M. Wheatley, Robert Pumpelly, Thomas W. Olcott and James H. Armsby. Not located in the act, 'Chap. 258, Laws of 1884. 'Chap. 220, Laws of 1858.

and plans not perfected. It was probably intended to meet a want since supplied by the School of Mines in Columbia College.


In the winter of 1835, a project was undertaken for the establishment of a College under the control of the Methodist Episcopal Church. It was started at a meeting of the Oneida Conference, at Oswego, September 25, 1835, and upon assurances of support and coöperation, William H. Seward, Nathaniel Garrow, George B. Throop, John Seymour and Rev. Zachariah Paddock, of Auburn; Rev. George Peck and Rev. Josiah Keyes, of Cazenovia, were appointed to procure a charter from the Regents of the University. The Genesee Conference, on the 14th of October of that year, appointed a committee to coöperate, consisting of Rev. Samuel Luckey, D. D., and Augustus A. Bennett, of Lima; Rev. Abner Chase, of Penn Yan; Rev. John B. Alverson, of Perry; Jonathan Metcalf, of Seneca Falls; Dr. Samuel Moore, of Palmyra, and Dr. O. C. Comstock, of Trumansburgh.

The commissioners met at Auburn, December 23, for counsel, and Messrs. Garrow, Seward and Throop were authorized to take such measures with respect to the Regents as might be deemed expedient.

On the 26th of February, 1836, the form of a Provisional charter was ordered to be prepared. It was definitely proposed to erect the College on the Dill farm, on the north side of Allen street, a few rods east of Washington street, and the cost of buildings and lands were to be $30,000, and the endowment, $50,000, all of which were readily consented to by the Regents.

A public meeting was held on the 25th of August, 1836, at which $18,000 was subscribed, and a Board of Trustees soon afterward was organized, with Nathaniel Garrow as President and William H. Seward as Secretary.

About $40,000 were subscribed, a plan for College buildings was prepared, and ten acres of land for a site donated. It was intended to commence the erection of buildings in the spring of 1837, but the financial crisis of that year soon came, blighting the prospects that had promised complete success, and effectually prostrating all further efforts in the undertaking.


Incorporated January 29, 1852, and intended to form an institu

1 Chap. 3, Laws of 1852.

[ocr errors]

tion for the education of young women upon an extended plan. Charter amended July 21, 1853,' as the "Auburn Female Seminary.' Efforts were made to procure an endowment, but difficulties arose, partly from being unable to agree upon a site, and the project was abandoned. In this proposed undertaking no one denomination of religious bodies was given a preference in the act, but they were to be represented in proportion to the amount of funds they subscribed. This effort was the germ of what was afterward matured in the Female College at Elmira under a separate charter.


An institution under this name with the usual powers of a College received a charter March 4, 1836,' which was not to be valid unless in three years, or sooner, the sum of $30,000 should be raised for a building, and $50,000 for an endowment.

This enterprise was begun by the Baptists, and funds were subscribed sufficient, as was thought, to warrant the undertaking. The walls of a four-story stone building were erected, but the inside work had not been done, when the financial crisis of 1837 came. This prevented subscriptions from being paid, and effectually stopped further progress. The unfinished building remained unoccupied for several years, excepting that its basement was used for stabling horses and cattle.

Some years afterward an entirely new corporation was formed under the name of the "Brockport Collegiate Institute," and acquired the title of the site. The building was finished and used for some years as an Academy, until burned. A new one was built, which now forms the central building of the State Normal School at Brockport.

1Chap. 624, Laws of 1853.

* This discrepancy of name occasioned much discussion, and a majority of the Trustees under the first act regarded the amendment as inoperative. The Regents considered it an amendment of the act of 1852, and lengthy opinions upon this point were entered in their records.

The Trustees of Brockport College under its provisional charter were Henry Davis and Benjamin Putnam, of Brockport; William B. Brown and Tenas Case, of Ogden; Elon Galusha, Ogden Sage, Albert G. Smith and Eleazer Savage, of Rochester; Joseph Elliott, of Wyoming; David Eldridge and Rawson Harmon, Jr., of Wheatland; Witman Metcalf, Rauson S. Burrow and Harvey Ball, of Albion; Elisha Tucker and Orange H. Dibble, of Buffalo; Nathaniel Garrow, of Auburn; Ichabod Clark, of Batavia; Gerrit Smith, of Petersboro; H. B. Dodge, of Greece; Samuel Phoenix, of Perry; Martin Coleman, of Holly; Bela H. Colegrove, of Sardinia, and James McCall, of Rushford.


Incorporated by the Legislature, April 5, 1866,' with the usual powers of a College, and subject to the general provisions of the Revised Statutes. Capital, $150,000, with power to increase the same to $500,000. Plans never perfected.


Incorporated by an act passed April 18, 1859,' with the design of establishing a College for the education of both sexes, and to be forever free from the teaching of sectarianism in any form. Practical Mechanics, Mining and Engineering might be taught, as also the science of teaching. The Genesee Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church were to have the right to nominate the President of the College, and it was to be subject to visitation by the Regents. Nothing was accomplished in the execution of this plan.


Incorporated March 12, 1851, under the general law for the formation of Benevolent, Charitable, Scientific and Missionary Societies, but no reports were ever made to the Regents.


Incorporated March 30, 1883,' with power to acquire an estate of $200,000. The objects declared to be the promotion of liberal and practical education, especially among the masses of the people; the teaching of the Sciences, Arts, Languages and Literature, and the preparation of its patrons for the professions, and for the various duties of life. Not under the visitation of the Regents. The only measure adopted hitherto has been the delivery of a summer course of lectures, etc. None of the provisions of the Revised Statutes, embraced in chapter 15, part 1 (relating to the Regents of the University), are to apply.

The Regents, in noticing the incorporation of this institution,* remark:

[blocks in formation]
« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »