Page images
PDF
EPUB

block from Broadway, and the building was four stories in height in front, and five in the rear. The building and lot were valued at $50,000. With the exception of 1860, it reported to the Regents from 1852 to 186+ (both inclusive), since which time no reports liave been made. In the closing sentence of their last report they reinarked, that while other Colleges had received appropriations from the State, this had never been the recipient of aid from either the State or city authorities,

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

NEW YORK MEDICAL COLLEGE AND IlOSPITAL FOR WOMEN. This institution was incorporated by an act passed April 14, 1863, as the “ New York Medical Coliege for Women,and twenty-nine women were named in the act as corporators and first Trustees. The object declared was for the purpose of instruction in the department of learning in Medical Science professed and taught in said College. The Trustees might confer the degree of Doctor of Medicine upon terms similar to those required in other Colleges, with regard to age, time of study and terın of attendance upon lectures.

By an act passed April 19, 1864," the name was changed to the New York Medical College for Women and Hospital for Women and Children," and the powers somewhat enlarged by allowing the corporation to use a part of its funds upon collections of books, and the productions of nature and art, as might not be required for medical and clinical instruction.

On the 12th of June, 1866, the name was again changed by the Regents to the “ New York Medical College and Ilospital for Women."

This institution is located at 213 West Fifty-fourth street, between Broadway and Seventh avenne. A report published by the TrusChap. 123, Laws of 1863, p. 191. * Chap. 230, Laws of 1864, p. 483.

tees, dated October 1, 1883, shows active operations as a hospital, but makes no allusion to instruction.

Reports have been received by the Regents from this institution as follows:

[blocks in formation]

THE WOMAN'S MEDICAL COLLEGE OF THE NEW YORK INFIRMARY

FOR WOMEN AND CHILDREN, A corporation previously known as the “New York Infirmary for Indigent Women and Children,” was by an act passed April 13, 1864,' changed to the “New York Infirmary for Women and Children," and its powers enlarged for the establishment of a school or College for women, to be called by the title in the above heading, with power to confer the degree of Doctor of Medicine under the same rules that are required in other Medical Colleges. Tlie College was to be subject to the visitation of the Regents, and to report annually to their Board.

No reports have been received from this institution by the Regents, although annual catalogues have been published showing classes in attendance. The institution is located at 128 Second avenue, corner of Eighth street. Women's COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS (New York City).

Incorporated April 17, 1866, with power to establish a hospital in connection therewith. Empowered to confer degrees, and made subject to visitation by the Regents.

NEW YORK FREE MEDICAL COLLEGE FOR WOMEN. Incorporated April 12, 1871,' and located in the city of New York, for the purpose of instruction in Medical Science. The Trustees might confer degrees upon terms similar to those in other Medical Colleges, were subject to visitation by the Regents, and were required to report to them annually.

1 Chap. 178, Laws of 1864, p. 360. 9 Chap. 612, 1866. Minority Report of Committee, Assem. Doc., 173, 1866. 3 Chap. 427, Laws of 1871, p. 837.

But two reports were made from this institution; one for the year ending in April, 1874, showing an attendance of 47, of whom 14 gradnated, and the year following, when 67 attended and 9 graduated.

New York COLLEGE OF VETERINARY SURGEONS. This institution was incorporated by act of April 6, 1557,' with power to hold property worth $100,000, to establish a course of instruction, and to grant the degree of Doctor of Veterinary Surgery.

In 1881, this College reported five graduates. It was located at 205 Lexington avenue.

NEW YORK PREPARATORY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE. An institution under this name was incorporated by special act, April 13, 1859,' with power to confer the degree of Bachelor of Medicine, not entitling the holder to any right or privilege belonging to the degree of Doctor of Medicine. No person was to receive this degree unless of good moral character, with a good English education, and not without attending two full courses of medical instruction, the last of which had been in this school. He must have passed a public and satisfactory examination, and be at least nineteen years of age. The corporation was to be subject to the visitation of the Regents, and was required to report to them annually. No reports were made to the Regents, nor do their records show that the school was organized.

TROY AND ALBANY MEDICAL SCHOOLS. Applications were made early in 1824 for the establishment of Medical Schools in Troy and Albany, but a resolution was passed on the 16th of February of that year, declaring that it was inexpedient to increase the number of these schools in the State.

1

Chap. 269, Laws of 1857. The act was amended April 19, 1862 (chap. 346). 9 The corporators and first Trustees named in the act were John Anthon, Thos. Gallaudet, John 0. Bronson, Charles A. Budd, Godfrey Aigner, Bern L. Budd, Charles K. Briddon, George Thurbee, John H. Anthon und George A. Quimby. (Chap. 270, Laws of 1859.)

a

UNITED STATES MEDICAL COLLEGE, Organized May 28, 1878, pursuant to the provisions of chapter 319, Laws of 1848, for the incorporation of Benevolent, Charitable, Scientific and Missionary Societies, and received under the visitation of the Regents, January 10, 1879.

The corporation 'eased rooms at Nos. 114-116 East Thirteenth street, formerly occupied by the “ New York Medical College," at an annual rent of $2,000, and the first course of lectures began October 3, 1878.

After five conrses of lectures had been delivered, the Trustees purchased the building, No. 9 East Twelfth street, for College purposes, and were about to erect a suitable building, when a suit was instituted at the instance of the New York County Medical Society, involving the franchises of the corporation.

In the meantime an act was passed, June 29, 1852, confirming the charters of such Literary or Scientific Societies as had been formed under the act of 1848. In the legal proceedings had, the courts decided adversely to this College, and on an appeal carried to the Court of Appeals, this decision was in June, 1884, confirmed.

During a stay of proceedings procured, while this matter was pending, a sixth course of lectures was delivered, at which about twenty students attended.

Before the charter was declared void by the courts five reports were made to the Regents, as follows:

[blocks in formation]

Of the classes reported in 1882-83, 65 were males and 18 females.

1 People v. Gunn, 96 N. Y. Rep. 317. Decided June 17, 1884. “Neither the original act, providing for the “incorporation of benevolent, charitable, scientific and missionery societies ' (Chap. 319, Laws of 1818), nor the various acts amendatory thereof (Chap. 51, Laws of 1870; Chap. 619, Laws of 1872), authorize the incorporation of a medical college.”

CHAPTER X.

ROLES ADOPTED BY THE REGENTS FOR THE INCORPORATION OF

ACADEMIES. It was resolved March 23, 1801, “that in future no Academy ought to be incorporated unless it appeared, to the satisfaction of the Regents, that a proper building for the purpose had been erected, finished and paid for, and that funds had been obtained and well secured, producing an annual net income of at least $100; and further, that a condition should be inserted in the charter that the principal or estate producing said income should never be diminished, and that said income should be applied only to the support of the teachers of the Academy."

On the 20th of March, 1815, the sum required for investment so as to yield $100 was increased to one yielding $250 per annum.

Printed blanks have been used for obtaining statistics of Academies from nearly the beginning. The earliest that has come to notice was printed in 1794, and addressed to members of the committee designated for visiting certain Academies, and after stating their appointinent, contained the following resolution of instructions:

" At a meeting of the Regents of the University of the State of New York, at the Senate Chamber, in the city of Albany, on the 28th day of January, 1794,

Resolved, That it be strictly enjoined on cach of the visiting committees to deliver, or cause to be delivered, a report of their respective visitations of the Board at their annual ineeting, prescribed by the Legislature.

Resolved, That these reports contain the number of students in each Seminary, the branches of education which are taught, the established rates of tuition, the changes which take place from time to time in their systems of education and government, the number and employment of the teachers, the salaries which they respectively receive, and a state of the annual revenues from the funds or estates of each institution.

Resolved, That the sums of money appropriated by the Regents to each Seminary be applied to them by the respective visiting committees, who shall with their annual reports render a particular account of the application to the Board.

Resolved, That the committees be directed to confine their application of the money to the purchase of such books and philosophical apparatus as are necessary to conduct a course of academical education, and for defraying the expense of the tuition of such youth of genius whose parents are too indigent to defray the same.

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »