Page images
PDF
EPUB

256

3. Second General Course, or "Combined Course."

This course will extend through four years. In this the languages studied will be Latin and German, the remainder of the course being essentially the same as the "General Course." To those who wish to make a thorough study of Modern Languages this course will be valuable, as combining the most useful parts, practically, of the courses usually pursued in Colleges, with a broader course; giving the two sides of all the great Modern Languages and literatures, including our own, and aiding the scientific student greatly in the literature and nomenclature of science.

4. "Combined Course, Abridged."

This will extend through three years. Its name explains its character.

5. Third General Course, or "Classical Course."

This will be mainly like the "First General Course," with the option of Ancient Languages for Modern.

6. "Scientific Course."

This will extend through three years, affording a general scientific preparation for either of the first four departments in the "First Division," as named above. A special effort will be made to bring this department fully up to the needs of the times, both by the course adopted and by the professors elected to maintain it.

[blocks in formation]

This will extend through two years. Its name explains its character.

8. "Optional Course."

In this course the student, on consultation with friends and the appropriate instructors, selects any three studies for which he may be fitted, from the whole range of studies pursued in the entire University, follows them up to such point as may be agreed upon, and receives, from the Governing Board of the University, at the completion of his work, a certificate, showing the extent of the course he has taken.

The requirements for admission are both general and special.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.-All candidates for admission to any department or course must present satisfactory evidences of good moral character.

All candidates for admission to any of the special departments in the "First Division" must be at least sixteen years of age. All candidates for admission to any of the courses of the "Second Division" must be at least fifteen years

of age.

Candidates for advanced standing will be examined in the previous studies of the course which they purpose to enter, and if they come from another College or University will present certificates of honorable dismission.

Entering the University will be considered a pledge to obey its rules and regulations.

Candidates for admission to any department or course must have received a good common English education, and be morally, mentally and physically qualified to pursue to advantage the course of study to which they propose to give their attention.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS.-1. In the department of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Military Engineering and Tactics, and Mining and Practical

Geology. In addition to the general requirements candidates will be examined in the whole of Elementary and Plane Geometry.

2. For the "Combined Course" in the Second Division, in which Latin is taken as an optional study in place of one of the Modern Languages, in addition to the general requirements the candidate will be examined in Cæsar's Commentaries, Cicero's Select Orations, six books of the Eneid and forty-five exercises in Arnold's Prose Composition, or in a course equivalent to this.

3. For the "Third General Course," or "Classical Course," an examination will be made similar to that for entering the first year at the existing Colleges of a good grade.

TUITION.

By the charter, free tuition is to be given to one student from each of the one hundred and twenty-eight Assembly districts of the State, who are to be selected by competitive examination from the public schools and academies, other students will pay thirty dollars for the year. Rooms for 200 students will be provided at moderate charges in and near the college buildings; and board must be obtained in private families or in clubs.

FACULTY.

A resident Faculty will be in readiness which, it is believed, will command the confidence of all friends of advanced and extended education. In addition to these, it is intended to secure, as non-resident professors, a number of gentlemen especially distinguished to deliver courses of lectures in their several departments. Several gentlemen of acknowledged eminence in science, literature and the practical arts, have already signified their willingness to accept such positions, and it is intended to announce the names of the Faculty, resident and non-resident, through the public prints early in the summer of 1868.

BUILDINGS.

One large stone building, 165 by 50 feet, and four stories in height, has already been erected; another of the same size is in progress. In these, besides dormitories, are library, lecture and recitation rooms, over thirty in number, and of various sizes.

LABORATORIES.

There will be two laboratories well equipped, one under the direction of the Professor of Agricultural Chemistry, and the other under the Professor of General Chemistry

COLLECTIONS.

The University already possesses the Jewett collection in Palæontology and Geology, purchased at a cost of ten thousand dollars, and has received a donation from the State of a collection of duplicates from the State Geological collection, and has funds now in hand to make large additional collections for illustration in the different departments.

LIBRARIES.

The trustees feel warranted in stating that the University will commence with a scientific and general library sufficient for the immediate wants of Faculty and Students, and constant appropriations will be made for its increase.

STUDENT LABOR AND PRACTICAL INSTRUCTION IN AGRICULTURE.

There is much labor to be done upon the farm attached to the Agricultural department, and a large number of students can be employed from one to three hours a day, at fair prices. Shortly after the organization of the University, the University Steward will organize a voluntary corps for systematized and remunerated labor, under the direction of the Professor of Agriculture and Engineering.

STUDENT LABOR AND PRACTICAL INSTRUCTION IN THE MECHANIC ARTS. It is intended to erect workshops upon the University property where students, under proper direction, can have practical instruction in Mechanic Arts. The first of these will be a workshop fitted with the proper machinery for working in wood and iron, in which students can labor at fair prices upon agricultural implements and machinery in general, and upon models for the University collections of machinery and apparatus.

Accomplished artisans will superintend this work, and the attention of those young men who would qualify themselves, by scientific study, for the most responsible and remunerative positions as master mechanics and superintendents of workshops, is invited to this feature in the course of practical instruction.

PENNSYLVANIA STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE.

CENTRE COUNTY.

HISTORY.

THE amount of scrip received by Pennsylvania was larger than that assigned to any other State except New York. It represented 720,000 acres of land. The proceeds were directed by the legislature to the "Agricultural College of Pennsylvania," established in Centre County, ten miles, from Bellefonte, the county seat. Prior to April 10, 1867, the amount of 260,000 acres had been sold for $151,136,-the price averaging a small fraction over 58 cents per The remaining 520,000 acres were sold at the date just named at an average price of 55 cents per acre, or $286,600; but as the sales were made on time, the money will not be realized at once.

acre.

The Philadelphia Agricultural Society was founded in 1785, and held regular sessions for several years. In 1823, the Pennsylvania Agricultural Society was established, including practically members from only the Eastern Counties, and holding a few annual fairs. In 1851, a State Agricultural Society was organized by delegates from fifty-five counties, who assembled in Harrisburg, on the 21st of January. The first annual fair was held in October following, and was attended by 20,000 persons.

The Farmers High School of Pennsylvania, originated in a meeting of the State Agricultural Society, held at Harrisburg, Jan. 18th, 1853. At this meeting a committee, consisting of F. Watts, J. H. Ewing and H. N. McAllister, was appointed and reported favorably on the establishment of an Agricultural College. The whole subject was referred to an Agricultural Convention to be held at Harrisburg on the 8th of March following. At this Convention, composed of delegates from all parts of the State, it was voted to establish such an institution, to be styled "The Farmers' High School," with a model farm attached, and a committee of which F. Watts, President of the State Agricultural Society was chairman, to obtain an act of incorporation was appointed. Judge Watts discussed the whole subject fully in the Annual Report of the Society for that year, and obtained an act of incorporation, approved April 13, 1854. By this act, the management of the institution was intrusted to the Presidents of the County Agricultural Societies, and the President and Vice President of the State Agricultural Society. They were authorized "to select a site, erect buildings, and procure a good practical farmer for its principal, who with such other persons as should be employed as teachers, shall comprise the faculty." A Board, consisting of fifty ex-officio members proved too large and too little interested in this special work, and after repeated attempts to get a quorum, the original Committee of the State Society applied to the Legislature for a modification of the charter, which was obtained and approved Feb. 22, 1855. The number of Trustees was reduced and a portion of them selected from their known interest in the proposed institution.

In July, 1855, the executive Committee of the State Society appropriated $10,000 to the School, and out of several locations offered, a site of 200 acres belonging to a farm of Gen. James Irwin, in Center County, with a donation of $10,000 from the County to secure 200 acres adjoining in addition, was accepted. In 1856, a bequest of Elliot Cresson of Philadelphia was received,―subscriptions in aid of the College were solicited, and promises obtained; and in May, 1857, an appropriation of $50,000 was obtained from the State, on condition that a like amount should be raised by subscription.

With the cash resources already secured of $25,000 from the State, and $25,000 from other sources, contracts for building were made, which required at least double the amount for their completion. This additional sum was not raised-the buildings were not completed after the original plan-the school was opened on the 16th of February, 1859, under difficulties and disadvantages, which those only who have had experience in such pioneer work can appreciate. Buildings were only partially finished, and wholly unequipped with the furniture and apparatus of instruction, as well as for the domestic comfort of pupils and professors. The teaching force was inadequate-the farm was rough, and the site of a building in the process of construction, and with no funds in the treasury either to go on or wind up, presented much inconvenience as well as a forlorn aspect to students and visitors. But the printed Catalogue for the year 1859, shows an attendance of 123 pupils, and the report of a special committee of the State Society, appointed in May, 1859, to visit the institution, speaks favorably of what was doing, and hopefully of the future. On the strength of that report the Society, on the 17th of Jan. 1860, voted $1500 in aid of the School.

On the 7th day of December, 1859, Evan Pugh, Ph. D., was appointed presi dent, and discharged the duties of professor of chemistry and scientific and practical agriculture. Dr. Pugh had studied in the Agricultural and Mining Schools of Germany,- —was a man of practical views and indomitable energy, and while administering the government and instruction of nearly two hundred pupils, under every disadvantage, found time to aid those who were urging an application to the legislature for additional help, which on the 10th of April, 1861, was granted to the extent of $50,000. With this sum the buildings were completed, and in 1863, (April 1,) the legislature assigned the U. S. land-scrip for 720,000 acres of public lands to the institution, the name of which had been changed in 1862 to the Agricultural College of Pennsylvania. The death of Dr. Pugh, in the spring of 1864,-the disturbed condition of every great interest in consequence of the war, and a change in the practical character of the institution, for a time diminished the attendance of pupils. From this depression the College has not yet recovered.

In 1867, W. H. Allen, LL. D., the successor of Dr. Pugh, resigned, and Gen. John Frazer was appointed president, and professor of Analytical Mechanics; and the whole plan of instruction was changed so as to include not only a scientific course in Agriculture, but Mechanical and Civil Engineering, and Metallurgy, Mineralogy and Mining. In a circular of the Board of Trustees, dated June 24, 1867, the present organization and course of instruction is set forth in great detail, from which we make the following statement:

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »