Page images





[ocr errors]

Morris, are at the Church, but
the “ burial-ground of Christ
Church” is at the southeast cor-
ner of Arch and Fifth streets;
here were interred Francis Hop-
kinson, General Charles Lee,
Benjamin Franklin, and other
men of mark of a hundred years
ago. The ground is surrounded
by a high, solid brick wall, but
in 1858 a portion of this wall
was removed, and an iron rail.
ing inserted, to permit the tomb


to be seen from the street.

Taking the street railway car
at Second street, we ride down
to Christian street, then walk
down to Swanson street, and
turning to the right a few steps
brings us to "Gloria Dei," bet-
ter known as "the old Swedes'
Church," built in 1699; the en-

OLD PINE STREET CHURCH IN 1876. graving shows the western front, and, passing into the “Graveyard,' we find the only notice- among the graves around we observe the tomb of Alexander able change is in the increased number of “grave-stones;” Wilson, “the Ornithologist.”

The next point of interest which attracts us is the old associate of Christ Church, St. Peter's Church, at the corner of Third and Pine streets ; but we defer speaking of it till our next, and pass on up Pine street one square, to the Third Presbyterian Church, "Old Pine Street Church," as it is affectionately called, which, as an inscription on its front advises us, was “ Founded in 1768;" our two engravings show the present and the past appearance of this old church ; in the

Graveyard," conspicuous among the noted names we find that of David Rittenhouse.

Not far from here is the First Presbyterian Church; though not a “Centennial” building, it arrests our steps a moment by its plain and simple beauty, and as

we see the street railway passing along Seventh street, we carnot but recall the fact that some of the strongest inducements to the selection of the site were: “It possesses all the ad. vantages of light and air derived from a corner situation, without the usual disadvantage of noise, and it will be the most quiet situation, because a chain across towards the square and another across Seya enth street will prevent any carriages from coming within a square on the northern, eastern or western sides."

The “ Pennsylvania Hospital” next invites inspection; but of this grand old institution we shall

speak hereafter. Its buildings and grounds cover "GLORIA DEI," OLD SWEDES' CHURCH IN 1700.

the entire block bounded by Pine, Ninth, Spruce

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

and Eighth streets. A building on the Spruce street side of the grounds is occupied by “the Historical Society of Pennsylvania,” and among its many wellchosen volumes, its rare and precious curiosities and relics of the olden time, and its choice portraits, visitors can spend many profitable hours; the rooms are open from 10 o'clock A.M. to 10 P.M. every week. day, and all are welcome.

There are many other edifices which no visitor to the city must fail to see; for instance, she libraries, including the venerable Philadelphia Library, and the schools, for which our city is famous; but we defer these for the present, and follow the fashion by going out with the human tide which already daily flows towards the Fairmount Park. The cars of the several street railway lines which run“ direct to the Centennial Grounds” are so thronged, that we take a less direct route, which offers the temptation of a walk through a most interesting portion of the noble Park. Leaving the alluring rooms of the Historical Society, we walk a half square to Eighth street, and enter a Green street and. Fairmount Avenue car, or walk a half square to Ninth street, and enter a Fairmount car of the Union Line-either of these bears us to the historic Lemon Hill, whereon stood the mansion of Robert Morris, the great and good PatriotFinancier of the United States in its earlier days, whose ethics were of the antique sort which led him to give of his own for the public weal rather than take of the public's for his own weal—indeed, to tell the truth, at the time when he managed the National Ex. chequer those were the only ethics which were prac

THE THIRD PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, WASHINGTON SQUARE. ticable, as the public crib was empty except as he filled it. I walk about amid its still charming scenery, and through its He called his home here “The Hills," and loved its cool, delightful shades, we cannot but recall the joys of his earlier, shady, tranquilizing retirement. We cannot tell the story of and the sorrows of his later, days on “ The Hills.” But his remarkable experiences in his suburban home, but as we the feet of other patriots of our country's heroic age hallowed

the soil of this old Hill, welcomed hither as guests by the noble host. The old mansion fittingly passed away soon aster the old patriot's troubles culminated in his enforced residence in a far different abode,

a the “ Debtors' Prison," and before he passed from his cross to his crown; but the Hill is still vocal with testimony of the man whose fame made it famous.

We can afford space now to speak of but one other of the historic “places" of which the vast Park is made up. We cross the elegant and substantial Girard Avenue Bridge, and pass along Belmont Avenue through and beyond the Grounds, and, at the summit of a gently sloping

hill, we find the renowned Belmont Man. HITT

sion, where was born Richard Peters, where he spent a long and useful life, and where he died at a ripe old age. The mansion still stands, the main building un. changed, except that it has been utilised

by being converted into a “Cale" or OLD PINE STREET CHURCH IN 1776.

" Restaurant," and, if we feel so inclined,

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

manded the "Macphersons's Blues." Mount Pleasant tells us, too, of Benedict Arnold's brief residence here, and of his illustrious succes sor in the occupancy of the mansion, the gallant Baron Steuben. There were also the celebrated Estates of Rockland, . Fountain Green, Belleville, Ormis.

ton, etc. We can. LEMON HILL IN 1876.

not, however, in we may dine in the same building, though not at the same these brief Memoranda, attempt to tell the marvels of the table, where more than a hundred years ago, and until Fairmount Park, or even to describe its beauties, which no within fifty years, were wont to dine eminent legislators, lover of nature will fail to discover for himself. The vast soldiers, jurists, etc.; we realize that the proverbially hospi- Exhibition will largely engross the attention of visitors to table Judge Peters no longer presides, but we find in Mr. our good old city; but none should go away without explorProskauer a genial gentleman and courteous host.

ing the Park in its every part. The hand of man has done But, besides the old Morris and Peters estates, the Park little in attempts to enhance the beauties bestowed by nature; comprises a number of grand old estates, each of which indeed, man cannot enhance them, for it is true of our Park, carries us back in its history and marvelous legends to the that its “ beauty unadorned is adorned the most.” early days of the Revolution, and still farther back to the period of the Proprietary Government. Mount Pleasant tells of John Macpherson who built the stately man sion, and of his son, who resigned a commission in


the British army

because “he would never serve against his countrymen," and joined the

Continental army

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

on the Hudson in 1779. Though not one of the great military he roes of the War, we are told he

* stood high in the confidence of Washington;" in the insurrection of 1794 he organized and com

VOL VI.—25

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]


The Grounds, the Buildings, etc.— Independently of terres, garden-beds, lawns, etc., with lakes, fountains, flowthe historic associations with which Fairmount Park abounds, ers, and a multitude of decorative ornaments—when we and which enhance its natural features of appropriateness, note that no two of the one hundred and sixty edifices within there is no other place in our extensive country which could the enclosure are similar in plan, construction or decoration, possibly be better adapted to the purposes of an International we are not surprised at the wonderful beauty of the picture Exposition unrivaled by any that have gone before. No spread out before us. Descending from our elevated standvisitor can fail to accord to those who selected the site, fault- point, we pass to a more minute inspection of the buildings, less judgment, discrimination and sagacity.

and are impressed at every turn with the taste, skill, judgment, Taking our stand at the margin of the Belmont or Twenty- and remarkable fitness in every particular of those who have fourth Ward Reservoir, we have a capital view of the entire | been the active supervisors and directors of the planning and

[graphic][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small]

Centennial Grounds ; our engraving of this view purposely carrying out of plans, and of the perfecting of the Exhibition
exhibits only the Centennial Buildings proper and the United in all its details.
States Government Building—to attempt to show, in a single Our engravings of the five Centennial Buildings proper
picture, all the buildings and annexes, would serve to con- show them in the following order: page 388, the Main Ex-
fuse, rather than assist, the beholder; but having the main hibition Building and the Machinery Hall; page 389, the
edifices under our eye, and locating the others by these, the Art Gallery, or ° Memorial Hall; page 390, Horticultural
view is of real value, as it affords not only a correct idea of Hall and Agricultural Hall. We shall not, in speaking of
the relative position of the buildings, but at the same time these, describe their respective sites, as the Diagram on this
shows the locality of the grounds by presenting a view of page and the view on the next sufficiently indicate them.
the Railroad, the Girard Avenue and the Callowhill Street

The immense surface extent of the Main Exhibition Bridges, the Fairmount Waterworks, and the city stretching Building, covering as it does 1,880 feet in length by 464 in out beyond.

width, imparts to it, in the picture at least, a low, squatty The Grounds cover an area enclosed of two hundred and look, which is only removed when we stand beside it and thirty-six acres ; there are thirteen entrances to the enclosure. look up at its altitude. The central dome is 120 feet square The ground is almost covered with buildings, the intervening at the base, and, springing on iron trusses of neat and graceful spaces being handsomely laid off in walks, terraces, par- design, rises to a height at its apex of 96 feet above the pave

beneath the dome, is 416 feet long by the same width as the nave and on either side there are an avenue and an aisle equal in width to those running at the sides of the nave; an outside aisle 24 feet wide and 24 high to a clerestory, passes around the building except where interrupted by the entrances. With this array 1 of figures, the

visitor can underA VIEW FROM BELMONT.

stand the vast ex

tent of the strucment. This dome is flanked by four towers, each rising | ture, and can study its interior arrangement and its decorafrom a base 48 feet square, to a height of 120 feet. At each tions without our going more into the details. corner of the building there is a tower rising 72 feet to a This Building is devoted to the following exhibits: Delevel with the main roof. There are, in all, 672 columns partr:ent I. Mining and Metallurgy, comprising Classes supporting the immense expanse of roof; they stand at an 100-109, Minerals, Ores, Stone, Mining Products; 110-119, average distance of 22 feet apart, upon substantial founda- Metallurgical Products; 120-129, Mining Engineering. Detions of solid masonry; they are of rolled iron, holted to partment II. Manufactures, comprising Classes 200-205, gether in segments. The nave is 1,831 feet long by 102 Chemical Manufactures ; 206-216, Ceramics, Porcelain, Potwide, with two side avenues each 100 feet wide, and two tery, Glass, etc.; 217–227, Furniture, etc. ; 228-234, Yarns and aisles each 48 feet wide. The transept, intersecting the nave Woven Goods of Vegetable or Mineral Materials; 235-241,



[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]



« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »