Page images




[ocr errors]

Of the church of St. Giles the records are meagre
indeed. There is little but the founding of the
original building, its re-founding in the fourteenth
century, and the tombs within the sanctuary, to which
any certain history belongs.

About the year 1107 Hugh de Stoke and his wife
joined with Aluredus, the priest of Stoke, to make
over the church and tithes of the parish of Stoke and
Ditton for ever to the Priory of St. Mary Overy, in
Southwark. The charter is witnessed by William
Giffard, Bishop of Winchester, who died 1128-1129.
In 1107 William had founded the first Cistercian
house in England, of which the remains are still
visible in the lovely valley of Waverley, near Farn-
ham, in Surrey. St. Giles was the eighth church so
appropriated by the abbey, nor is there any reason
to suppose that it was then a new building. But of
this twelfth or eleventh century building there are
apparently no remains, unless it be in the north wall
of the chancel, in which is a blocked-up Norman
window, but into the outside wall of which is built
a fragmentary capital, which may more reasonably
claim to have been part of this early church.

[ocr errors]


[graphic][subsumed][merged small][ocr errors]

The name of the de Molines family is connected with all that we can guess of the building of the later church; nor is it improbable that the beautiful four


teenth century tomb in the north wall of the chancel was built for one of this name, although it is by no means evident that the fabric of the north wall is of


the same date. However, the position of the tomb makes it probable that its occupant had a large share in building the church. In 1331 Sir John Molines and his wife Egidia obtained a charter empowering


him to hold a fair on St. Giles's Day; and as such parish fairs were always headed by the founder of the church or his representative, and as we find Sir John performing this duty, it seems probable that he refounded the church, especially as his date agrees with

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »