Page images
PDF
EPUB

PILLNITZ, (Hotel: Goldener Löwe), population, 5,000, is the summer residence of the king. The palace combines a mixture of the Roman and Chinese styles. After the fire of 1818, it was rebuilt. The chapel and the diningroom are decorated with frescoes. The park is laid out in the French fashion, and there are some greenhouses and a botanic garden worth visiting. Pillnitz is celebrated in history as the place where the treaty of coalition against France was concluded, Feb. 17th, 1792. Crossing the village of Pillnitz, and ascending the Persberg, a fine view may be obtained. The road from Pillnitz to Lohmen lies by the side of a remarkable glen, called Liebethaler Grund. Lohmen is an old town, with the ruins of an old castle.

From Lohmen we proceed to Uttewalde, 2 miles. At the last house of this village, there is a descent to a narrow valley, called Ottowalder Grund. In the narrowest part, called Felsenthor, the brook occupies the whole width of the valley. In ten minutes, a small grotto is reached, called Teufelsküche (Devil's Kitchen), whence, bearing to the left, the ascent is made to the Bastei. A shorter and more interesting route is that by Pötzscha (Railway station). From this point, Wehlen, on the opposite bank of the Elbe, may be reached by steamboat.

From Wehlen, the route lies through the Zschürne Grund, a rude ravine, enclosed between two woody mountains; and upon leaving the ravine by the road to the right, the Bastei is reached in ten minutes. There is an inn close to the Bastei.

The Bastei, 760 ft. above the Elbe, the most interesting point of Saxon Switzerland, is a pre

cipitous rock, terminating in several peaked summits. A tower has been erected upon the platform, whence one of the most extensive views of the Elbe and the bordering country may be obtained.

Russell says of it: "The prospect is, of its kind, unique in Europe. You hover on a pinnacle, at an elevation of 600 ft. above the Elbe, which sweeps round the bottom of the precipice. Behind, and up along the winding river, on the same bank, rise similar precipitous cliffs.

The striking feature is, that in the bosom of this amphitheatre-a plain of the most varied beautyhuge columnar hills start up at once from the ground, at a great distance from each other, overlooking, in lonely and solemn grandeur, each its own portion of the domain. The most remarkable of them are the Lilienstein and Königstein, which, nearly in the centre of the picture, tower 900 ft. above the Elbe."

From the Bastei, in half an hour, Rathen, a town on the left bank of the Elbe, opposite the railway station, may be reached.. The road descends by a stone bridge, which clears the points of the rock, and from which the tourist looks down the precipice beneath him. Arrived in the valley, he bears to the left, through. the Amselgrund towards Rathe walde.

The road on the right leads to Hohnstein.

From Hohnstein, the ascent is made to the Brand, a rock like that of the Bastei, whence also a charming view is obtained. Descending from the summit by a ravine, and partly by steps, the high road from Hohnstein to Schandau is reached. From this. point the banks of the Elbe are

reached in three quarters of an hour, and in twenty minutes more, Schandau, a small town on the Elbe, and on the Bohemian frontier.

Mules may be hired at Schandau for excursions to the Kuhstall, to the Kleine Winterberg, to the Grosse Winterberg, to the Prebisch Thor.

From Schandau to Papststein, is an hour and a quarter's journey; ascending on the left towards Kleine Hennersdorf, from near the station, and keeping on the border of the wood, the summit of the Papststein is attained, and an extensive panorama enjoyed.

The Kuhstall (1,060 ft.), presents the form of a door pierced through the rock, 23 ft. high, from which we look down into the deep ravine called Habichts-grund. This place served, during the Thirty Years' War, as a refuge for the cattle, and it is thought that from this circumstance, it derived its name, which means "Cow stall."

The descent is made from the Habichts-grund, to remount anew, in the first place, the little Winterberg, 1,640 ft., and afterwards, the great Winterberg, 1,883 ft. From the summit can be seen the mountains of Saxony, Bohemia, and Silesia.

An hour will suffice to take the tourist from this point to the Prebisch Thor (1,440 ft.), similar in formation to the Kuhstall, where there is a magnificent view.

KONIGSTEIN is a small town situated at the foot of the rock which is occupied by the fortress of the same name.

The fortress, the only one in Saxony, is reached in 40 minutes. It was put in possession of Prussia after the war of 1866. It is half a league in circumference, and contains a well-cistern 616 ft. deep. In time of war the trea

sure and the archives of the kingdom are taken there. The garrison consists of 400 men. A fee of one thaler is paid for every party of eight persons. There is a fine view from the ramparts, and the ascent and promenade occupy usually two hours.

Opposite Königstein, on the right bank of the Elbe, is Lilienstein (1,368 ft.). On the commencement of the Seven Years' War, October 15, 1756, the Saxon army, 16,000 strong, surrendered here to Frederick the Great. The French formed around its base in 1813 an entrenched camp. There is a fine view from the summit.

From Königstein, the valley of Bielagrund, interesting for its geological formation, may be visited; the Schweizermühle, and the villages of Eilund and Schneeberg, from which last may be undertaken (with a guide) the ascent of the Schneeberg (2,415 ft.).

The return to Dresden is through Pirna, on the bank of the Elbe, and a station on the railway. Upon a rock above the town is the ancient castle of Sonnenstein at the present time a lunatic asylum; it was taken in 1639 by the Swedes, and in 1758 by the Prussians, by whom its external defences were destroyed.

ROUTE 100.

BERLIN TO HAMBURG.

175 miles; 1st class (express), 300 sgr.; 2nd, 210 sgr.; 1st class (ordinary), 225 sgr.; 2nd, 170 sgr.; 3rd, 125 sgr.

EAVING Berlin we proceed by the park of Charlottenburg, and crossing the Sprée and the Havel, reach SPANDAU (4) miles), (Hotel: Adler), population, 9,000. It is a fortified town, situated at the confluence of the above-named rivers, and is, so to speak, the citadel of Berlin. Its industry is very extensive. It contains cannon and other foundries, military store-houses, a powder-mill, a manufactory of small arms, laboratories for the artillery, &c.

The Church of St. Nicholas, of the 14th century, possesses many interesting tombs. The Finkenkrug, in the environs of the town, is a favourite promenade.

At WITTENBERGE (74 miles), the line from Magdeburg falls in, crossing the river by a long bridge. Beyond Wendisch-Warnow (833 miles), we enter the Grand Duchy of Mechlenberg-Schwerin, and shortly afterwards reach

LUDWIGSLUST (73 miles), the summer residence of the Grand Duke, (Hotels: de Weimar, Grossherzog von Mechlenberg), population, 5,500. The Château contains a picture gallery and a collection of antiquities. The park affords agreeable promenades. In the Russian Chapel is the tomb of the Grand Duchess Helena. Passing HAGENOW (116 miles), where there is a branch to Schwerin and Rostock, we reach Boitzenburg (134}}

miles), beyond which we enter the Duchy of Lauenburg, and crossing the Stecknitz, arrive at BUCHEN (144 miles). From hence a branch line goes to LUBECK (see Route 98). Passing several unimportant places we then reach

BERGEDORF (162) miles), a town of about 2,000 inhabitants, formerly belonging in common to Hamburg and Lübeck. The district is called Vierlande. The costumes of the peasantry are very striking. The next station is HAMBURG (See Route 98).

ROUTE 101.

BERLIN TO STETTIN.

84 miles; 1st class, 120 sgr.; 2nd, 90 sgr.; 3rd, 60 sgr.

HE first station after leaving Berlin is BERNAU (14 miles), noted for the defence it made against the Hussites in the fifteenth century. NEUSTADT-EBERSWALDE (28 miles) is a manufacturing town of about 5,000 inhabitants, situated on the Finow Canal, which connects the Oder with the Havel. The environs are delightful. Some distance beyond Neustadt, near Chorin, we see the remains of the ancient Abbey of the Cistercians, We next reach ANGERMUNDE, near which the line skirts the lake of Paarstein. Proceeding along embankments through the valleys of the Randow and the Welse, and the marsh of Pommerenzdorf, we pass Passow (564 miles), and near Tantow (70 miles) we observe, on the right, the lake called Dammsche See. Afterwards, crossing the fortifications, we enter STETTIN (84 miles), (Hotels: de Prusse, drei Kronen),

now a tavern.

population 71,000. It is situated on the left bank of the Oder, and is connected with the suburb of Lastadie, on the right bank, by four bridges. It is a fortress, and the capital of the province of Pomerania, and the chief commercial port of Prussia. The Castle is of the sixteenth century. The court contains a bronze statue of the Great Elector of Brandenburg. From the tower there is an extensive view. The Hôtel de Ville is of the thirteenth century. Opposite this building is the Bourse. In the Königsplatz are marble statues of Frederick the Great and Frederick William III.

The out-port of Stettin is SWINEMUNDE, on the left bank of the Swine, one of the three mouths of the Oder, where the depth of water is sufficient for the largest ships. It contains 6,800 inhabitants, and is a much-frequented bathing-place, (Hotels: Drei Kronen, de Prusse). Considerable improvements have been made in the port of late years, and an extensive traffic is carried on with all parts of the world,

ROUTE 102.

BERLIN TO DRESDEN.

117 miles; 1st class, 5th. 15 sgr.; 2nd, 3 th. 20 sgr.; 3rd, 2 th. 10 sgr.

N leaving Berlin we pass, on the left, the Kreuzberg, and obtain

a view of the tower of Teltow on the right. The first station is GROSS BEEREN (12 miles). Here a cast-iron obelisk, surmounted by a cross, is raised in memory of the victory gained by the Prussians over the French in 1813. Luckenwalde (301⁄2 miles),

a town of 5,000 inhabitants, on the Nuthe, is celebrated for its cloth manufacture. We next reach JUTERBOGK (40 miles), population 5,000. It is surrounded by ancient walls, and has some fine old gates. In the Church of St. Nicholas is preserved the indulgence - box taken from the monk Tetzelwhen filled with money, the produce of the sale of indulgencesby a robber who had purchased of him an indulgence for any sin he might commit. Here the line for Leipsic leaves that for Dresden. We pass some unimportant places, and reach RODERAU (894 miles), and, crossing a long viaduct, join the Leipsic and Dresden line near RIESA JUNCTION. (For the remainder of the journey, see Route 99.)

ROUTE 103.

BERLIN TO FRANKFORTON-THE-MAIN (BY EISEN

ACII).

339 miles; 1st class, 20 th. 21 sgr.; 2nd, 13 th. 20 sgr.; 3rd, 9 th. 20 sgr.

HE route as far as Jüterbogk (40 miles), is described in Route 102. We now leave on the left the line to Dresden, and proceed to WITTENBERG (604 miles), (Hotels: Weintraube, Stadt London), population, 13,000. It is situated on the Elbe. Here it was that the great Reformer, Martin Luther, some time a monk, and afterwards a professor of theology at the once famous University of Wittenberg, posted up his 95 theses in opposition to the pretensions of the Roman Catholic Church, and here he burnt the

Papal Bull which condemned him. He was buried, in 1546, in the Sclosskirche, which also contains the tombs of his supporter, Melancthon, and of Frederick the Wise and John the Steadfast, Electors of Saxony and his friends. The ancient doors of the Schlosskirche were replaced, in 1858, by others of bronze, on which are engraved the subjects of his various theses. The Town Church contains two paintings by Cranach representing the preaching of Luther, and baptismal fonts executed by Hermann Vischer. The ancient convent of the Augustines, in which Luther was a monk, and which was afterwards the University, is now a Protestant Seminary. Visitors are shown his cell, and various articles that belonged to him. His house is now attached to the school. Near it is an oak, planted on the site of that under which he burnt the Pope's Bull. The Rathhaus contains his portrait and those of other Reformers, by Cranach. His statue, by Schadow, is in the Marketplace.

Leaving on the right the Anhalt line, we cross the Elbe over a bridge of 12 arches, and passing Dessau (82 miles), in the Ducal Palace of which there is a cabinet of antiquities, some manuscripts of Luther, &c., we reach KoTHEN (95 miles). From hence to HALLE (105 miles), see Route 99.

Leaving Halle we cross the Elster and Saale near their confluence, and arrive at Merseburg (114 miles), a town of 12,000 inhabitants. The Cathedral, of the 13th century, has a richly ornamented portal, some paintings by Cranach and Albert Dürer, and a monument of the Emperor Rudolph of Suabia. At CORBETHA (120 miles), the line from Leipsic falls in.

WEISSENFELS (127 miles), is a town of 10,000 inhabitants,situated on the Saale, and has a fine port. The body of Gustavus Adolphus, who fell at the battle of Lützen, was brought here and embalmed in one of the chambers of the Amsthaus; part of the wall, marked with his blood, is still to be seen. The ancient castle is converted into a barrack. A little west of the station, near the railway, is a little house marked with an N., in which Napoleon passed the first night after the battle of Leipsic. We see on the right the Chateau de Gesæk, and the Tour de Schanburg, before reaching

NAUMBURG (133 miles), (Hotels: Preussischer Hof, Sächsischer Hof), population, 14,000, situated on the Saale, and surrounded by hills planted with vineyards. The Cathedral, completed in 1249, is a mixture of the Romanesque and Gothic styles. The pillars of the choir are adorned with sculptures, and there is a handsome rood screen. In the Stadt kirche is a painting by Cranach, "Christ Blessing Little Children." Leaving Naumburg, we see, on the left, the village of SCHULPORTA, containing a school at which Klopstock, Lessing, and Fichte were educated. We several times cross the Saale, which flows through a picturesque defile celebrated in the military annals of 1806 and 1813. At KŒSEN (138 miles) are some salt works and baths; on the left are the ruins of Rudelsburg; further off, the towers of Saaleck. About 4 miles from Stadtsulza (143 miles) is Auerstadt, and the field of battle of Jena, where Napoleon defeated the Prussians, 14th October, 1806. The most convenient point on the railway from which to visit the battle field is Apolda, the station five miles farther on.

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »