« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
A, Albemarle Street, where he first met Byron, in 1815 (see BYRON, p. 34), and was welcome at the clubs.
During the later years of his life he stopped at the Waterloo Hotel, Nos. 85 and 86 Jermyn Street; at Long's, No. 16 New Bond Street, where he had his last meeting with Byron (see Byron, p. 34), both unchanged in 1885;5 and at the St. James Hotel, No. 76 Jermyn Street, on the south side between Bury and Duke Streets, since a Turkish Bath Establishment, from whence in 1832 he was taken to Abbotsford to die.
When I saw Sir Walter [Dr. Ferguson writes], he was lying in the second-floor back room of the St. James Hotel in Jermyn Street, in a state of stupor from which, however, he could be roused for a moment by being addressed.
Scott, vol. I think I never saw anything more magnificent than ji, chap. the symmetry of his colossal bust, as he lay on the pillow with his chest and neck exposed. . . . At length his constant yearning to return to Abbotsford induced his physicians to consent to his removal ; and the moment this was notified to him it seemed to infuse new vigor into his frame.
The St. James Hotel, No. 76 [Jermyn Street], on the south side, was the last London lodging of Sir Walter Scott. Here he lay for a period of three weeks after his return from
Cunningthe Continent, either in absolute stupor or in a wak- ham's Handing dream. The room he occupied was the second- London: floor back room ; and the author of this collection of Jermyn London memoranda delights in remembering the universal feeling of sympathy exhibited by all (and there were many) who stood to see the great novelist and poet carried from the hotel to his carriage on the afternoon of the 7th of July, 1832. Many were eager to see so great a man ; but all mere curiosity seemed to cease when they saw the vacant eye and prostrate figure of the illustrious poet. There was not a covered head, and the writer believes — from what he could see — - hardly a dry eye, on the occasion.
LITTLE more is known of the London life of William the
Third's Poet Laureate than that he was a member of the Middle Temple, lived at one time in Salisbury Court, now Salisbury Square, Fleet Street (see RICHARDSON, p. 253), and in Church Lane, afterwards Church Street, Chelsea, where he died. He was buried in St. Luke's Church, Chelsea ; but no tablet records the fact, and his grave is unknown. Mr. Shadwell died the 19th December, 1692, in the fifty
second year of his age, as we are informed by the in
scription upon his monument at Westminster Abbey, the Poets,
although there may be some mistake in that date, for Shadwell.
it is said in the titlepage of his funeral sermon, • preached by Dr. Nicholas Brady, that he was interred in Chelsea on the 24th November of that year.
SHAKSPERE left Stratford-on-Avon for London about
1585, when, according to tradition, he became connected in some way with one of the then existing theatres, perhaps holding the horses of the gentlemen who patronized the Red Bull, in Red Bull Yard, now Woodbridge Street, St. John's Street, Clerkenwell (see Davenant, p. 75). He was,
however, more likely a player at the Blackfriars House, which was built in 1576, upon the ground now called Play House Yard, Ludgate Hill, and the site of which, according to Doran, 'is occupied by Apothecaries' Hall [No. 84 Water Lane, between Carter Lane and Play House Yard] and some adjacent buildings. The theatre was restored twenty years later, when Shakspere and Burbage were interested in its management, but was destroyed during the Commonwealth and never rebuilt.
That Shakspere was afterwards a householder in the neighborhood of the Blackfriars Theatre, there is no question. In the Guildhall Library is preserved the original deed of conveyance of a house bought by him and described as 'abutting upon a streete leading down to Puddle Wharffe on the east part right against the King's Maiesty's Wardrobe.' This property in his will he bequeathed and devised unto his daughter Susannah Hall. Major James Walter, in his ‘Shakspere's Home and Rural Life' (page 70), says : ‘A house is [1874), or was till lately, pointed out near St. Andrew's Church as having been that which belonged to Shakspere ; but this is only a matter of popular tradition.'
The Church of St. Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe, built by Wren after the Great Fire, and, of course, of later date than Shakspere's time, stood in 1885 in the modern Queen Victoria Street, between St. Andrew's Hill and Wardrobe Terrace.
Wardrobe Place, Church Entry, Ireland Yard, and Play House Yard still perpetuate the memory of this part of Blackfriars as it was in Shakspere's day ; but everything else is changed. In 1885, around the wretched and forsaken burial-place, which is all that is left of St. Anne's Church, Carter Lane, — destroyed in the Great Fire, and never rebuilt,
was a fragment of stone wall, probably the only stones left standing in that parish which Shakspere may have seen.
Ireland Yard is believed to have been so called from the William Ireland mentioned in this deed of Shakspere's house as being now or later in the tenure or occupation of it.'
Shakspere, early in his London career, was associated with the Globe Theatre on the Bankside, which was built in 1594, and was under the management of the same company as the Blackfriars, but on the other side of the Thames and not far from the southern end of Old London Bridge. It was used as a sort of suburban or summer theatre until it was destroyed by fire in 1613. Maps and plans of Old London show it to have stood in the yard of the Globe Tavern, which was approached by Globe Alley, an offshoot of Maid Lane, afterwards New Park Street. Its exact site seenis to have been in the establishment of the famous Brewery of Barclay and Perkins, and directly behind the houses which in 1885 were numbered 13, 15, and 17 Southwark Bridge Road, standing on the east side of that thoroughfare, nearly opposite Sumner Street.
Globe Alley, Deadman's Place, and a number of other streets and lanes often trod by Shakspere have been entirely demolished in the frequent extensions of the premises of the great firm of brewers (see Johnson, p. 163).
Knight, in his · London,' says that Shakspere lived as late as 1609 in the street since known as Clink Street, Southwark. In 1885 it extended from St. Mary Overy's Wharf to Bankend and the railway-crossing. Malone believes his Southwark abiding-place to have been ' near the Bear Gardens in the liberty of the Bishop of Winchester,' just west of Winchester Park, the site of which is now marked by Winchester Street and Winchester Yard. The Bear Gardens in 1885 was a short street running from No. 27 Bankside to No. 58 Park Street, between the Southwark Bridge Crossing and Emerson Street. This was on the exact site of the Bear Gardens existing during the reigns of the Tudors