Page images
PDF
EPUB

St. Cuthbert the bishop; and Cecilia, in her widowhood, gave for the souls of her husband, and Ranulph and Matthew, her sons, her whole lordship of Childewick, with the mill and soke thereof, as also of Siglesden and Harwood, with the suit thereof. Alice de Romeli, their daughter, wife of William Fitz-Duncan (1 Henry II., 1151), translated these canons from Emesey to Bolton, which she gave the monks in exchange for other lands of theirs ; she being heiress to their founders, confirmed to them all their grants, and further granted free chace in her chace in Craven. King Edward II. (reg. 5,) having all their lands given by their several benefactors recited before him, confirmed them to them. This priory was a cell in some respect to that of Huntington, till it was discharged of that subjection by Pope Celestine III. The prior and convent granted to John de la Insula, or Lille, Lord of Rougmont, a liberty to found a chantry of six chaplains in the church of Harwood, for the maintenance of which he gave one acre of land, and the advowson of the faid church, for the good of his soul, and those of his ancestors. In the reign of king Richard II. (anno. 20), that king granted a license to Richard de Scrope, knight, to found a chantry of fix chaplains, of whom one to be the Custos, in his castle of Bolton, and to endow the same with a yearly rent of £43. 6s. 8d. Other benefactors of this house were William Vavasor, who gave to these monks a carucate and a half of land, with the appurtenances of Fedon ; Simon Braam, who

n; Simon Braam, who gave them a bovate of land in Over-Yeden ; and Alice Wentworth, one bovate of land in Wentworth. This priory was surrendered to King Henry VIII.'s visitors, in 1539, by Richard Moon, then prior, when it was found worth £212. 35. 4d. per annum.

Here the reader has the whole skeleton history of the priory of Bolton, near Skipton-in-Craven, in the style which down to near our own time prevailed amongst topographers; and which often prevails amongst them now. This was the genuine Dryasdust system, by which you got the bare bones of the chief facts, and nothing but the bare bones; no flesh, no muscle, no skin, no beautifying colour and life. Topographers till the time of such men as Surtees of Durham, Whitaker the historian of Craven, Baker of Northampton, etc., seemed to imagine that nothing was worthy of record but the driest facts and genealogies. All those environments of scenery which are the life-blood of every place, were left out, and instead of a living presence we were presented with a corpse. Who would imagine that in Bolton we had one of the most charming spots, mingling the loveliest art with the loveliest nature that England or any other country can show? Whitaker, with a different sense of the unities which constitute the actuality of a place, says that for picturesque effect the site of this Bolton Priory has no equal amongst northern houses, and perhaps none in England.

But let us look a little at the ruins of the priory before taking in the whole picture. The ruins, surrounded and mingled with magnificent trees, present a most exquisite combination of towers, lofty broken arches and gables, with projections and windows of most varied character, draped with ivy, and standing on its low green fward in a noble monastic folemnity. The different portions of the building display every successive style from the Norman down to the decorated, the final order of AngloGothic. It is evident at a glance that it has been the work of successive hands, and successive ages. To comprehend the whole the visitor must examine the details for himself. We are told that Alice de Romeli,--in 1151, thirty-one years after the period of the foundation,-who had married William FitzDuncan, nephew to David king of Scotland, gave this rich and sheltered spot to the monks in exchange for the more bleak and exposed estates of Skipton and Embsey : and that it was on a most sorrowful occasion, of which we shall more particularly speak. The fortunate pofsefsors did not cease to enlarge improve and enrich their house till Henry VIII. broke in upon them, still building, and wrested the property from Richard Moon, the prior, before he had completed his western tower.

BOLTON PRIORY, WEST END.

The visitor will be agreeably surprised to see the nave converted into a parish church, where divine service is still performed. In different parts of the nave still stand five lofty cylindric columns, and equally fine tall lancet windows, with fragments of stained glass, and beautiful tracery. At the east end of the aisle of the nave is the old Chantry Chapel, under which is the burial vault of the Claphams and Maulevers of Beamsley. This is covered by eight large rough stones, above seven feet long, laid side by side, and rising nearly two feet above the floor. These old squires and knights are said to have been buried upright; and, if we were to believe Wordsworth, you might still see them through the chinks of the foor standing grimly in that position. But this is at present a mere poetical myth, founded, no doubt, on tradition.

Pals

fs, pass who will yon chantry door,
And through the chink in the fractured floor
Look down and see a grisly fight,-
A vault where the bodies are buried upright !
There, face by face, and hand by hand,
The Claphams and Maulevers stand

i
And in his place, among son and fire,
Is John de Clapham, that fierce esquire,
A valiant man, and a man of dread
In the ruthless wars of the White and Red ;
Who dragged Earl Pembroke from Banbury church,
And smote off his head on the stones of the porch.

The Tudor screen separating the nave from the transept remains, and also the roof of the nave, painted with broad lines of vermilion, and the beams resting on figures of angels, one of which stands on a crescent moon,-an evident allufion to Prior Moon. The choir, in the decorated style, retains its fine lofty windows, and specimens of tracery of uncommon beauty. On the floor are visible slabs covering the graves of different noble benefactors and priors. Fragments of four of the fedilia remain, and of a piscina of the early-English style, but greatly mutilated. On the south side of the choir are two chapels, which are the resting-places of the lords of Skipton. In one of them in 1670 was visible the effigy of the lady Romeli or Romille, the great patroness of the house. It is so no longer. In the old quadrangle stands a building appropriated as a school :

and the foundations of the chapter-house and of the prior's lodge are yet traceable. The guide-book to the abbey will enable visitors to notice every particular feature of this fine old pile. In the fields near still exists the priory barn.

“The ruins of this celebrated priory,” says a modern writer, “stand upon a beautiful curvature of the Wharf, sufficiently elevated to protect it from inundation, and low enough for every purpose of picturesque effect. Its site is so shut in by hills and embosoming trees, that the stranger is not aware of it till he is almost on the spot.” After passing an ancient, but snug and comfortable hoftelry,—an agreeable object to those who contemplate a sojourn of some days here,-you cross a high, bald bridge, very different to the one erected in 1314 by Eve de Laund. On a beam in a cottage adjoining the bridge may be seen this infcription :

Thow yat paffys by yes way,
One ave Maria here now say.

On your left hand is a large pasture called the Town-field, bounded by the river, in which field, “amid corn almost ready for the fickle, Prince Rupert, it is said, on his way to Marston Moor, encamped in the last week of July, 1644." The elm under which he dined was remembered in the beginning of the present century. Again in 1745, the rebels pastured their horses there, though it was again laden with corn. There is a pleasant footpath from the bridge, across this fertile plain, to the abbey; but strangers generally proceed a few hundred yards further down the road, and enter the abbey-close by an opening in the boundary wall, which there remains in good preservation. There, fome years ago, we entered. We came to a few cottages—to a high stone wall—to a small arched gateway; and passing through, what a little paradise burst upon us! There were the ruins of the priory amongst magnificent

« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »