« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
Delays occurred in procuring a title, and from other causes so that repairs could not be commenced before October 17, and the opening did not occur until the 18th of December. Twenty-nine pupils appeared at the beginning, and at the time of the first report (January 29, 1845), ninety-three were in attendance, of whom sixtyseven were State pupils, and the remainder volunteers. The first instructors were DAVID PERKINS PAGE,' Newburyport, Massachusetts, as Principal; GEORGE R. PERKINS, of Utica, Professor of Mathematics; FERDINAND G. ILSLEY, Teacher of Vocal Music; and G. B. HOWARD, Teacher of Drawing.
The Normal School thus established has since been continued without material change in organization or plan. In 1854, the Superintendent of Public Instruction took the place of the Superintendent of Common Schools [Secretary of State], and has regularly reported its condition to the Legislature. The Executive Committee has also made an annual report to the Board of Regents who have transmitted it to the Legislature.
It is deemed sufficient in this place to present a concise outline of present organization, and a summary of operations of this institution.
RULES OF ADMISSION. Applicants should apply to their School Commissioner, who will upon knowledge of qualifications send a certificate to the Superintendent of Public Instruction, who will indorse it, and send to the President, in whose hands the applicant will find it. The allowance is two from each Assembly District; but since other Normal Schools have been opened it is practically open to all. If a county has more applicants than allowed, the vacant places of other counties are filled. Applicants must sign a declaration that their object in coming is to prepare themselves as teachers, and that they intend to devote themselves to the work of instruction in the public schools of the State. They must possess certain qualifications in Arithmetic, Geography, Grammar, Spelling and Reading, specified in the rules, and sufficient to enable them to enter the lower class to advantage. Those not having a Regents' Preliminary Certificate must be examined Females must be at least sixteen, and males eighteen years old, and for advanced class a proportionately greater age. Maturity of mind is deemed indispensable, and none without weighty reasons are admitted after the beginning of the term.
TERMS: COURSE OF STUDY There are two terms in a year; the Fall term beginning on the second Wednesday of September and the Spring term on the second Wednesday of February. Each
Mr. Page was a cousin of Professor Perkins. He was the author of a system of Penmanship, and an eloquent lecturer upon education.
term continues twenty weeks, and those prepared are graduated at the end of each term.
The course extends through two years. The studies are as follows:
JUNIOR CLASS, 1st TERM. Arithmetic, English Grammar, Geogra phy, Map Drawing, Penmanship, Physiology, Algebra, Didactics.
2d TERM. Algebra continued, Higher Arithmetic, Elocution, Rhetoric, English Grammar, Botany, Natural Philosophy, History of the United States, Didactics.
SENIOR CLASS, 1st TERM. Geometry, Natural Philosophy, Ethics, Astronomy, History, Science of Government, Higher Algebra, Criticism, Free-hand and Industrial Drawing, Didactics.
2d TERM. English Literature, Mental Philosophy, Trigonometry and Surveying, Chemistry, Geology, Book-keeping, Political Economy, Evidences of Christianity, Natural History, Comparative Anatomy, Practical Use of the Microscope, Didactics, Teaching in Model School.
Composition, Elocution and Vocal Music receive prominent attention throughout the course.
DIPLOMAS. These entitle their holders to engage in teaching without further examination.
EXPENSES. Tuition and Text-books are free. The actual fare paid in coming is refunded to those present at the beginning of the term and remaining till its close. There are no dormitories. Board is furnished in families approved by the committee at from $3.50 to $4 per week exclusive of washing.
BUILDINGS. The rooms hired near the head of State street below the Capitol were vacated at the end of the lease, and a building was erected on the north-west corner of Lodge and Howard streets, and this is still in use as a residence of the President, and for all school purposes.
In 1883, the Legislature was asked for an appropriation for repairs, but an examination having proved the building unsafe, it was decided to build a new one. The sum of $125,000, and the proceeds from the sale of the old site and building were appropriated, and a site was chosen on Willett street fronting upon Washington park, where a new building of most approved plan has been built, and will be opened in 1885.1
The act for the erection of the Normal School building was passed May 29 1883. Senators Abraham Lansing, of Albany, and Addison P. Jones, of Catskill, were greatly interested in procuring this enactment. The materials of the old
The Normal School has no library worth noticing.
RESOURCES. The appropriation for maintenance has been $18,000 a year, and in no instance have the expenses been allowed to go beyond the means at command. Several special appropriations have been made, and there is an income from tuition in the model or experimental school that is applied toward the payment of expenses.
The receipts of the year ending September 30, 1883, were $23,323.70, including a balance of $684.85 on hand at the beginning of the year.
The attendance in the Model School during the term ending January, 1883, was 128, and in the term ending in June, 1883, 111. Different scholars during the year, 161.
FACULTY. This consists of a President and eleven professors and instructors, receiving in all the sum of $12,836 as salaries.
PRINCIPALS (since 1867 Presidents) OF THE STATE NORMAL SCHOOL AT ALBANY.
David Perkins Page, A. M. December 18, 1844, till his death, January 1, 1848.
George R. Perkins, LL. D. January 1, 1848, till his resignation, July 8, 1852.
Samuel B. Woolworth, LL. D. September 20, 1852, till his resignation, February 1, 1856, upon appointment as Secretary of Regents.
David H. Cochran, A. M., Ph. D. February 1, 1856. ReCapitol were purchased for the building, which was erected upon plans proposed by Messrs. Ogden and Wright, architects of Albany.
It is described as follows: Front on Willett street and the Park, 128 feet; depth 160 feet; court in the centre 50 x 90 feet. Designed to accommodate 400 Normal students, 200 pupils in the model department, fifty in the Kindergarten and twenty in the Object Class. North and south flanks three stories high, with central part front two stories. The central part stands back six feet from the front of the two flanks. The latter are 104 feet deep, and running transversely across the easterly end is a four-story building with a proportionally high roof. Style renaissance, with frieze-band and sill courses of terra cotta, and moulded brick liberally treated The ground story, elevated four feet above the grade, is faced with Nyack sandstone taken from the old Capitol, and laid in rock faced random ashlar. The exterior walls above this and the court are faced with Glens Falls pressed brick, with high windows and door dressings of brown stone. The lower ashlar is of upper aqueduct blue stone. The internal arrangements, ventilation, heating and drainage are planned with the utmost care. The building is practically fire-proof. Each floor is filled with mineral wool, all partitions are of brick or hollow tile and all beams are of iron.
signed September 19, 1864, upon appointment as Principal of the Brooklyn Collegiate and Polytechnic Institute.
Oliver Avery, A. M. December 8, 1864. Resigned January, 1867, at close of 45th term.
Joseph Alden, D. D., LL. D. April 24, 1867. Resigned at the end of fifteen years' continuous service.
Edward P. Waterbury, Ph. D., LL. D. June 22, 1882. Forthe first time in its history, the Normal School at Albany was now placed under the care of one of its own graduates.
THE NORMAL SCHOOL WAR RECORD.
In July, 1862, upon receipt of news of disaster in the "Seven Days' Battle" before Richmond, the young men of the Normal School felt that the time had come for them to do their share of duty in the national defense. Professors Rodney G. Kimball and Albert N. Iusted volunteered to lead, and with the graduates and students of the Normal School as a nucleus, a company of one hundred men was enlisted, and on the twenty-fifth of September they were mustered into the service of the United States, " for three years or the war." The Faculty presented a valuable revolver to each officer, and a rubber blanket was purchased for each Normal member. The company became "Co. E," 44th N. Y. Volunteers ("Ellsworth Avengers"), and after three weeks' drill at the Albany barracks, it left for the seat of war, where they were attached to the 3rd Brig ade, 1st Division, 5th Army Corps. They joined this command on the twenty-third of October, at Antietam Ford, and served in seventeen engagements between December 11, 1862, and June 2, 1864.
When the three years of enlistment expired, August 8, 1864, but ten of the original hundred remained. These, with such as were absent, were then transferred to the 140th N. Y. Vols. and some were present at the final surrender at Appomattox. They were finally mustered out in June, 1865.1
1 An extended account of this service, prepared by Capt. Prof. A. N. Husted, will be found in the Historical Sketch of the State Normal School at Albany, N. Y., and a History of its Graduates for Forty Years." (1884), pp. xii-xv.
Of this company, 13 were graduates and 12 undergraduates. Besides these, 79 others, formerly of the Normal School, served in various stations in the Union army from Brigadier-General to private. Four served for the "Lost Cause,” of whom one was killed in battle.
The 2,420 reported 17,7921 years in teaching, an average of 7.35 years to each. Counting the 166 unreported as not teaching, the average is 6.84 years. Of the 2,420 reported, 103 did not teach after graduation; 14 died within a year; 7 enlisted in the army, immediately after graduation; 6 were prevented by family duties caused by sickness and death; 4 were shattered in health and unable to teach; 11 ladies married immediately, and were unable to teach, and one was relieved from the obligation, upon payment of $75 for tuition, making 13 that reported valid reasons, and leaving 60, or about 2.7 per cent who were under obligations to teach but did not.
Of the 2,420 graduates, 88 became lawyers; 20 clergymen; 27 civil engineers; 56 physicians; 71 school officers, as State Superintendents, Assistant State Superintendents, Superintendents of Schools and School Commissioners; 102 instructors in this and other Normal Schools, authors (of many school books) and editors; 67 served in the war, of whom 12 died, and one is now a captain in the regular army.
It is believed that in addition to the above, about 8,000 undergraduates of the school have taught in District Schools.
The committee, in reporting the above statistics, express gratification at the results, as proving the error of a charge often made against the Normal School, that its graduates do not teach, but that, after being educated at the public expense. they engage in other pursuits.
From the 40th Report of the Executive Committee, made January, 1884. These statistics and those that follow were prepared by Principal Waterbury, who had undertaken exhaustive inquiries upon this subject. They are embodied in a separate publication (pp. xxxvii and 237) of which the title is cited on a preceding page. This work will be found to contain a complete list of Executive Committees and of all Instructors, with the exact time of their service, and a historical notice of the educational and public services of each graduate, so far as could be ascertained by a most searching inquiry.