« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »
The village of Concord is located on section 27. The Air Line road which passes through the place renders it an excellent point for manufacturing purposes. All the various branches of business are represented here, and some of the merchants have a very fine trade. There is also a bank in the village, which is also doing an extensive business. The public school is well graded, and stands high among the schools of the county. The Baptist, Presbyterian, Methodist and Universalist churches, the two former of which were built in 1837, are substantial structures,
In former years the village profited much from the passage of emigrants over the old stage route between Jackson and Jonesville. Situated as it is in the midst of a rich agricultural district, there is every reason to believe that within a very few years the village will raise itself to the dignity of a town, and hold within its limits numerous industrial establishments.
The township is well watered, possesses a soil of sandy loam, capable of producing the best crops. Good timber exists in abundance, and though the marshes are numerous, a little outlay would render them capable of the highest cultivation.
The first Free Methodist society of Jackson county was organized in Concord tp. in the winter of 1868, by Rev. E. P. Hart. Rev. John Billings was the first minister taking charge of the work. Rev. A. V. Leonardson was sent on the work in 1869, and visited Napoleon, and during the winter of 1870 Rev. E. P. Hart organized a society there. Rev. John Campbell came to Spring Arbor and held a protracted meeting, and a society was formed in 1872. The organization in Jackson city was effected the winter of 1873. Societies were also formed in Sandstone, West Concord and Jefferson.
Wilder Lodge, No. 176, 1. 0. O. F., was organized Dec. 14, 1871, with eight members, whose names we cannot fully obtain, as the records were destroyed by fire Jan. 14, 1877. The char ter officers were: J. W. Hungerford, N. G.; R. H. Hungerford, V. G.; Isaac Ormsby, R. S.; G. J. Cole, P. S.; W. I. Hungei ord, Treas. The present officers are: A. W. Severance, N. G.; J. B. Pomroy, V. G.; G. A, Stahley, R. S.; C. H. Hovey, P. S., and J. Bigelow, Treas. The number of members at present is 65.
Following are personal sketches of some of the more prominent citizens of Concord township, whose lives constitute an essential feature of the history of the community.
Jabez Allman, farmer; P. O., Concord; was born in England Jan. 2, 1823, son of Major and Margaret (Axby) Allman, the former of German ancestry, and the latter of English; was brought to this country by his parents in 1830 and settled in Canada; remained there until 1838, when he moved to White Pigeon, Mich., with his parents. He learned the trade of harnessmaking at Marshall, and in 1844 went to Homer and opened a shop for himself. March 12, 1845, he was married to Elizabeth Darling, daughter of Ezra and Charlotte (Ganunary) Darling; they have had 11 children, viz. :-Amos E., Edwin L., Charlotte E., William H., Mary L., M. Frank, John W., Margaret M., Sarah A., Elmer J., Joseph H. In 1848 Mr. A. bought a farm of 39 acres on sec. 32, Concord tp., and he has kept adding to it until now he owns_a farm of 240 acres, worth $65 per acre; is a member of the M. E. Church, and in politics a staunch Republican.
A. M. Baker was born at Albany, N. Y., in 1838. Soon after his birth his parents removed to Hamilton, N. Y., where he received his earlier education. When he was 16 years of age he started West alone; remained in Indiana a short time, and went to Centralia, Ill., where he was employed in a store. In 1860 he went to Cairo, Ill., where he held a position in the postoffice; in a short time he received an appointment in the mail service which he held about three years, when he resigned and went across the plains to Virginia City, Montana, and engaged in mining and prospecting, and followed this business three years. In 1867 he came East to St. Louis by the Missouri river, and in a short time again entered the mail service, where he remained until 1873, when he came to Concord and embarked in mercantile pursuits; since that time he has remained here.
Harvey Baker, P. O., Concord, was born in Genesee county, N. Y., April 22, 1825, son of Shubal and Lucinda E. (McIntyre) Baker, the former a native of Connecticut, of English ancestry, and the latter a native of Massachusetts and of Scotch ancestry; was reared on a farm. August 21, 1849, he married Einily M. Baker, daughter of Samuel P. and Mary J. (Fuller) Baker, and of their 13 children, 11 are living, to-wit: Charles H., Mary E., James F., H. Lafayette, Eva M., Frank A., Jessie D., Lawry C. Mertie E., Ernest G. and Grace E. He came to this county in 1849, lived in Pulaski tp. 18 months and worked at brick-laying and plastering, and in 1851 moved to Concord tp. and settled on sec. 15, where he still resides. He has held several offices of trust and responsibility in the township; in politics a "Greenbacker."
William A. Bain, farmer; P. O., Albion; was born in Genesee county, N. Y., July 23, 1820; son of Nathan and Abigail (Bean) Bain, natives of New Hampshire and of Scotch ancestry. He came to Jackson county in 1837 and settled on sec. 8, Concord tp. He was married June 9, 1842, to Catharine Gillespie, who died April 9, 1853. April 1, 1855, he married Phebe A. Luce, daughter of Zebulon and Rachel (Tompkins) Luce, and of his 12 children, 5 are living, 2 belonging to his first wife and 3 to the last. In 1873 he moved to the city of Albion for the purpose of schooling his children, where he remained five years and then returned to his farm. He has held several offices of trust in the tp.; in politics is a staunch Republican.
Josiah Bigelow, farmer; P. O., Concord; was born in Genesee county, N. Y., May 22, 1825, son of Jacob and Lois (Putnam) Bigelow, the former a native of Vermont, of English ancestry, and the latter of New York. He was brought to this county by his parents in 1836 and settled on sec. 34, Concord tp. Here the mother died Oct. 4, 1847, and the father, Oct. 21, 1879. Mr. Bige. low was married Oct. 7, 1847, to Ann Jennett Fitch, daughter of Gerard and Jennett (Cushman) Fitch, and of their 5 children, 4 are living, viz.: William F., Mary J., Lois C., Sara E. Mr. B. has held several offices of trust in this tp.
W. F. Bigelow was born in the town of Concord, Mich., May 16, 1852, where the greater part of his life has been passed. He received his education at Michigan University, graduating in 1875 with the degree of B. S.; he studied law at Jackson, where he was admitted to the Bar; he practiced at East Saginaw, Mich., with John J. Wheeler until the fall of 1879, when he came to Concord and embarked in journalism. He established and now edits Our Home Enterprise at Concord.
Thomas Bornor (deceased) was born in Devonshire, England, Aug. 12, 1825, is the son of William and Susannah (Smith) Bornor, natives of the same place, who emigrated to this country in 1852, locating in Genesee county, N. Y., and remained there three years, where he worked by the day and month. He had $4.50 in his pocket when he landed in Genesee county, with a wife and 3 children. In 1855 Mr. Bornor came to Jackson county and settled in Smithfield, where he remained two years; he then purchased a farin of 60 acres in Concord tp.; in 1864 traded liis land for 120 acres on sec. 3 of the same tp., where he remained until his death, which occurred March 7, 1879. He was a member of the school board for several years. The family consists of 4 daughters and 3 sons, viz: Phoebe, Elizabeth, Williain C., Minnie A., Morris G., Edwin T. and Ida May.
Richmond Briggs, P. O., Parma, was born in Wyoming county, N. Y., May 9, 1812; son of Pardon and Betsey (Cook) Briggs, the former a native of Connecticut, of English ancestry, and the latter a native of Rhode Island, of English ancestry; was reared on a farm, and came to this State in 1830; stopped in Wayne county three years, and then came to this county and settled on sec. 2, Concord tp., where he still resides. He was married April 10, 1839, to Caroline Chapinan, who died April 13 1843. married again June 4, 1843, to Mary Swift, daughter of Thedosius and Polly Winchester) Swift, and their 3 children are William C., George W. and Louisa I. They also took a girl baby of five weeks old to raise, which they consider the same as their own; her name is Martha M. Mr. B. has held the office of Justice of the Peace for nine years.
Jesse B. Burroughs, farmer; P. O., Concord; was born in New York, Sept. 15, 1833, son of Jesse B. and Phoebe (Whitford) Burronghs, natives of Vermont, of English ancestry. He was brought
to this county by his parents in 1833, and settled in Pulaski tp., and remained there until 1836, when they moved to Concord tp., and settled on sec. 36, where the father died June 14, 1859. He was married Oct. 11, 1854, to Harriet D. Roberts, daughter of Eben and Polly (Stoddard) Roberts, and their children are-Alice A., now the wife of Edward Bartlett, and Lathian W. In 1863, Mr. B. bought 100 acres of land on sec. 24, Concord tp., and in 1879 sold it and bought 160 acres of secs. 9 and 16, where he still resides. He held the office of Constable five years. In politics he is a Democrat.
Franklin A. Carpenter, P. O., Concord, was born in Jackson county, Mich., Oct. 30, 1845; son of Alanson and Eliza (Hart) Carpenter, the former a native of Massachusetts, of English ancestry, and the latter of New York, of Scotch ancestry. He was married. to Elizabeth Curtiss, Oct. 2, 1871, daughter of Moses and Elizabeth (Baron) Curtiss. Of their 5 children 4 are living-Edward B., born Aug. 28,1872; Lilian E., born Aug. 18, 1874, and died Feb. 2, 1879; Nellie I., börn May 15, 1876; Arthur F., born Sept. 14, 1877, and Sarah M., born Aug. 29, 1880. His father died Aug. 9, 1868; he then took charge of the place, and in 1879 traded it for a stock of hardware and some village property in Concord. He is a consistent member of the Baptist Church, and in politics a Prohibitionist.
William D. Chapple, farmer; P. O., Albion; was born in England, July 14, 1832, son of Jacob and Jane (Daniel) Chapple, who emigrated to this country in 1841, and settled in Stafford, N. Y., and remained there until 1860. He was married Sept. 23, 1851, to Emma L. Lewis, daughter of Richard and Mary (Hearn) Lewis. In 1860 they moved to Wisconsin and remained there until the spring of 1863, when they came to this county, and settled in Concord tp., in sec. 5, buying 65 acres of wood land, which he commenced to clear; he afterward bought 65 acres more, also wood land; he has now 102 acres under cultivation. In 1866 he went to Calhoun county and took charge of the county poor-house, where he remained five years, and in 1871 moved hack upon his farm. He has held several offices of trust in this tp. Of his 3 children, 1 is living-Percy E., who now holds the position of Assistant Cashier of the First National Bank at Marseilles, Ill.
James M. Coykendall, farmer; P. O., Albion; was born in Yates county, N. Y., March 31, 1816, son of Joel and Margaret M. (Strubell) Coykendall, natives of New Jersey, the former of Holland and the latter of German ancestry. He was married May 12, 1839, to Sophia Winfield, daughter of Henry and Mary (Wilson) Winfield. He came to this county Oct. 13, 1847, and settled in Grass Lake tp., where he remained until 1854, when he moved to Leoni tp., and remained there antil 1863; then he moved to Concord tp., and settled in sec. 6, where he still resides. He is a member of the M. P. Church, and in politics a staunch Republican.
Andrew Cutter, farmer; P. O., Parma; is a son of Will am and Lucy Cutter, nee Calier, and was born Nov. 22, 1824, in Troy, N.
Y., of which place his father was also a native, and his mother, of Connecticut. Sept. 10, 1842, Mr. Cutter came to Michigan and settled in Jackson, and in 1852 moved to the farm on which he now resides, sec. 12, Concord tp. In June, 1855, he married Amanda L., daughter of Lewis and Alvira T. (Graves) Band, the former born in New York, the latter in Vermont, both of English parentage. Their 2 children are Nellie A., born Jan. 29, 1867, and W. Louie, born July 4, 1874. In the fall of 1842 Mr. Cutter became Deputy Postmaster under Hon. G. B. Cooper; also served under Wilbur F. Storey, now of the Chicago Times. Mr. Cooper's successor was Deputy a year and a half after James A. Dyer succeeded Mr. Storey. Under Buchanan's administration in 1858, Mr. Cutter was appointed Deputy U.S. Marshal by Robert Davis, Davis being superseded by John L. Butterfield. Mr. C. was reappointed in 1860), for the purpose of taking the census, and took the enumeration in six townships. Since 1852 he has devoted much attention to breeding and rearing fine blooded live stock, especially fast horses. He now owns the famous “ Black Cloud,” which has a record of 2:214 and has a national reputation; the blooded Kentucky horse, “ Joe Baker," and the celebrated Mambrino horse,
Waxey." In religion Mr. Cutter is a liberalist, and in politics a life-long Democrat.
John Fulls, farmer; P. O., Concord; was born in Ireland Aug. 15, 1807, and is a son of Andrew and Rebecca (Little) Falls, of Irish ancestry. He came to this country in 1825 and settled in Hunter, Greene Co., N. Y., and remained there until 1832, when he went to Wayne county, where he remained until 1835, then came to this county, and settled on sec. 23, Concord tp., where he still resides. He was married May 3, 1835, to Mary E. Mead, daughter of David and Ann (Brown) Mead. He bought 80 acres of land when he came here, for which he paid $300; he has added to that until now he owns 332 acres, which are worth about $50 per acre. His wife died Nov. 28, 1875; of their 10 children 8 are living, viz.: Rebecca, born March 15, 1836; Caroline, born March 29, 1838; Mary, born June 29, 1839; Jane, born Sept. 5, 1841; Maria, born May 6, 1843; Ellen, born July 24, 1846; Emily, born Nov. 4, 1849, died Dec. 9, 1854; John W., born Jan. 1, 1853, died Nov. 21, 1854; George A., born Dec. 12, 1855; Emma, born June 23, 1861. In politics, Mr. F. is a Democrat.
William H. Findley, farmer; P. O., Concord; was born in Calhoun' county, Mich., May 21, 1841, son of Gabriel R. and Effie (Lusk) Findley, natives of New York, the former of Irish ancestry, and the latter of German. He was brought to this county by his parents in 1852, and settled on sec. 32, Concord tp., where the father still resides. He was married March 25, 1863, to Mary A. Mann, daughter of Daniel and Miranda (Sears) Mann. Their 3 children
Millie M., Bertha M. and Charles C. The same year he was married he bought 164 acres of land on secs. 23 and 26, upon which