Page images
[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

Entered, according to Act of Congress, in the year 1868, by

In the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the United States, for the

District of Indiana.



On Monday, the 5th of September, 1774, there were assembled at Carpenter's Hall, in the city of Philadelphia, a number of men who had been chosen and appointed by the several colonies in North America to hold a Congress for the purpose of discussing certain grievances imputed against the mother country. This Congress resolved, on the next day, that each colony should have one vote only. On Tuesday, the 2d July, 1776, the Congress resolved, "That these United Colonies are, and of right ought to be, Free and Independent States,” etc., etc.; and on Thursday, the 4th July, the whole Declaration of Independence having been agreed upon, it was publicly read to the people. Shortly after, on the 9th September, it was resolved that the words - United Colonies" should be no longer used, and that the “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA " should thenceforward be the style and title of the Union. On Saturday, the 15th November, 1777, "Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union of the United States of America" were agreed to by the State delegates, subject to the ratification of the State legislatures severally. Eight of the States ratified these articles on the 9th July, 1778; one on the 21st July; one on the 24th July; one ou the 26th November of the same year; one on the 22d February, 1779; and the last one on the 1st March, 1781. Here was a bond of anion between thirteen independent States, whose delegates in Congress legislated for the general wel. fare, and executed certain powers so far as they were permitted by the articles aforesaid. The following are the names of the Presidents of the Continental Congress from 1774 to 1788: Peyton Randolph, Virginia........

1774. Henry Middleton, South Carolina..... ..22d Oct., 1774. Peyton Randolph, Virginia.....

..10th May, 1775. John Hancock, Massachusetts....

..24th May, 1776.

..5th Sept.,

[ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

The seat of government was established as follows: At Philadelphia, Pa., commencing September 5, 1774, and May 10, 1775; at Baltimore, Md., December 20, 1776, at Phil. adelphia, Pa., March 4, 1777; at Lancaster, Pa., September 27, 1777; at York, Pa., September 30, 1777; at Philadel. phia, Pa., July 2, 1778: at Princeton, N.J., June 30, 1783; at Annapolis, Md., November 26, 1783; at Trenton, N. J., November 1, 1784; and at New York City, N. Y., Jan. 11, 1785.

On the 4th March, 1789, the present Constitution, which had been adopted by a convention and ratified by the requi. site number of States, went into operation.

[blocks in formation]

1790... 3,172,464 59,466 697,897 757,363 3,929,827 1800... 4,304,489] 108,395 893,041| 1,001,436 5,305,925 · 1810... 5,862,004 186,446 1,191,364 1,377,810 7,239,814

1820... 7,861,937 238,156 1,538,038 1,776,194 9,638,131 1830... 10,537,378 319,599 2,009,043 2,328,642| 12,866,020 1840... 14,195,695 386,303 2,487,455 2,873,758 17,069,453 1850... 19,553,068 434,495 3,204,313 3,638,808 23,191,876 1860.../ 26,964,9301 487,9701 3,953,7601 4441,7301 31,443,322

[ocr errors]
« ՆախորդըՇարունակել »